We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wetherill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wetherill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room was excellent. Newly renovated and MASSIVE. The bathroom was very nice too. The hotel was very clean. The heater/air conditioner could be loud at night so beware of that. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was also delicious with a great range. The only complaint I have is that there was no wifi around the place. They have only one computer that you can use but that's just the one for the whole inn. I'm not sure how legitimate this complaint is, though, seeing as we were in the middle of the desert and there was not even phone signal. The staff also give you a drawn out map of how to get from the inn to Monument Valley which was very helpful too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl24Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    313
    244
    58
    21
See reviews for
154
382
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

On the way to Monument Valley or Grand Canyon, depending on your direction, this is as good as it gets. It's a motor inn, although they do have a pool. Nice breaky included. Rooms are clean, attractive and up to date although on the small side. Quiet other than a bit of road noise in the morning only. Room comes with a fridge, TV, coffee pot, ironing board, hair dryer, lots of lights, Internet. There are only a handful of hotels in this Navajo Nation town. The price was about $90 a night so well within the range that we've generally paid on our swing of the western states. Like another reviewing noted, the parking lot is quite small and tricky to maneuver. Funny considering the town is surrounded by miles and miles and miles of open land.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sintita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riva Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was your typical 1960s motel. Motel had all room doors opening to the parking lot. It was clean and comfortable with an indoor pool. The Breakfast was surprisingly good and the staff was friendly. I would stay there again if I was in the area. Close to monument Valley.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiiumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

It was a very nice place. We were on our way from Monument Valley to Grand Canyon, so good location. It was the best price of the inns in the town. The room was very comfortable and clean, the breakfast was good, enough choice (I dont have very high expectations). The most annoying thing was the asphalt at the parking slot as there were lots of small sticky stones that got stuck at my flipflops:). Other than than it was really nice experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife Deb and I enjoyed our stay, for the most part. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, the air conditioner worked well and we didn't hear any traffic noise, so we slept well. The staff was friendly and accommodating to all of our needs. The continental breakfast didn't offer much choice, but at least the coffee was good. We had to drive across town for our meals, as there was nothing at all in walking distance. The room did have a fridge and microwave, if one were inclined to bring groceries. We went down to the heated pool to swim but it seemed the pool was heated with ice water. No swimming for us, and we're from North Dakota! We choose the motel because it was close to Monument Valley, on our way to Page, AZ.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDfrmboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Wetherill Inn, a stopover on the way to Monument Valley from the Grand Canyon. Our room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The office offers a complimentary Internet terminal if you need to check your email or plan your next stop. The indoor pool was pleasant, and the complimentary breakfast was excellent. Lots of choices, including a pancake machine (never seen one before). There are several rooms where you can sit and eat your breakfast, including a quiet outdoor seating area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCTWSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enon, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

First of all, Wetherill Inn is clean, and very basic, but I thought a bit pricey for what you get. I think it was part of the Navajo Tribal lands, so that could explain the price. Close to Monument Valley (well worth the trip!!). The customer service at the desk needs a lot of work. We had trouble with the air conditioner all evening, and at first the customer service at the desk said that we'd just have to tough it out. When my husband suggested a discount, she finally called the maintenance guy to take a look at it (after a second reminder call from my husband). He evidently was called from home, but was very gracious and fixed the problem. They were new air conditioners, but hadn't been set up correctly. The bed was comfortable, but they didn't seem to have king size beds, so we got a double room. We asked for a recommendation for a place to eat, and was sent to the Blue Coffee Pot Cafe. Diner type food. Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kayenta
1.4 mi away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
19.7 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kayenta
Hampton Inn Kayenta
#1 of 4 in Kayenta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wetherill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wetherill Inn

Property: Wetherill Inn
Address: 1000 Main Street, Kayenta, AZ 86033-0175
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wetherill Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wetherill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wetherill Hotel Kayenta
Best Western Wetherill Hotel
Best Western Kayenta
Kayenta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing