We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than stellar.”
Review of Wetherill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wetherill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Less than stellar.”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed in Kayenta a couple of times, but at the Hampton Inn which was full on this trip, so we stayed at Wetherills. The room was tired looking and dark, and the walls and floors were not sound proofed at all. It was noisy. The wireless connection was just about useless. My major complaint was that we called on the road and made a reservation and paid for it with our credit card. It was apparently their last available room. It was not until after we left that I discovered that they had not honored the rate that they had quoted us on the phone. It was only 10 dollars or so higher, but seems pretty shady to me. Next time I will keep driving if the Hampton is full. Very poor value for the money, about 135 dollars with tax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drifterdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    329
    250
    59
    21
See reviews for
161
396
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wow! The kindness of the Navajo is unbelievable and I love even more their business sense. This Inn is very conveniently located, very clean, spacious and has a great, friendly and helpful staff and a laundry facility on site! They sell laundry soap so don't sweat it, you don't have to bring anything with you, it's all there. Very nice indoor pool as well. Definitely a place I would stay again. If you wish to eat at a local restaurant you HAVE to go to the restaurant of the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Compared with other chain motels around the U.S. countryside the rates in kayenta are higher in general. You pay for the location near monument valley, not for a fancy motel. knowing this the wetherill inn is a good choice. It was clean and tidy. Nevertheless the village itself is a mess. Lots of slags hanging around and nothing to do, except for the monument valley. Again: considering all this we would stay there again for one night, pretty much because monument valley is just a 30 minutes ride from there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan_Hikelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a typical American motel-style hotel with large bedrooms and views out over the car park. The room was clean although dark, with very noisy air con and toilet. For one night it was fine but I wouldn't want to stay much longer as for the money (we paid $149 on the door), it wasn't great. Breakfast pretty basic.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KeithDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Kayenta is a small town.This motel is on the main street. The room is big and beds are comfort. We enjoyd the breakfast they offered. The AC is very loud and we have to use our luggage to build up a wall to block out the fan as it directly blow the bed. It offers what we need as tourist just stayed for one night but it is over priced for the old motel.

Room Tip: We stayd on the 2nd floor, it was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanghaiblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A short review. Don't bother. AC broke down. Luckily I asked for a fan and did not listen when he tried to advise it will kick in and sort itself out!

Glad I did or else we would have had a hellish night in the heat with a 7 month old crying all night. Amenities basic but clean. The most unfriendly staff I have ever encountered in an establishment. At breakfast the waitress was even tutting at guest making the tea area dirty.

Our teething baby was chewing on hard bread in a high chair. My husband said good bye to the witress and she did not answer as she was disgruntled because she may have to sweep up after the baby. She did not realise that we had already picked up the pieces we could.

We complained in the morning and had a full refund. and the waitress was frogmarched to face the supervisor and my husband. She was forced to say sorry. I could not belive it??? That is how they handle poor customer service. No wonder they have such surly impolite staff. If you can, just drive on to the next town. A waste of time and money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocosuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kayenta hotels

Fortson, GA
Level Contributor
511 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife & I were part of a family group of 8 adults touring national parks for a week in early August (HOT!). We changed hotels daily & drove 1000+ miles..... Lots of astonishing canyons & rocks! Did I say it was HOT?!

We drove into Monument Valley the evening of 8/8 & stayed at the Wetherill Inn because all the other hotels were full when we had booked our trip. In fact, the Wetherill Inn was not listed with Hotels.com nor on Kayak; we had found it only thru a referral from one of the hotels that was full. The Wetherill Inn had stopped being a Best Western several years ago & looked to have been going steadily downhill. The exterior areas were particularly beaten up, including a poor, mangy stray dog begging for scraps & affection.

The 2 Navajo personnel at check-in were not particularly pleasant, which was a surprise given the economic situation of the tribe. Things got worse when our group got to our 3 rooms: they were worn, dingy, poorly lit, & not at all inviting. The beds were OK, but not especially comfortable. We checked in after 9 PM & were told that there were only 2 restaurants still open in Kayenta - & they closed at 10 PM, so we had to hustle to get to dinner in time at the nearby Holiday Inn.

Breakfast (included) the next morning was serviceable, but we were all glad to be leaving.

We suggest you book a room early enough with one of the other hotels so you can avoid the Wetherill Inn.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kayenta
1.4 mi away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kayenta
Hampton Inn Kayenta
#1 of 4 in Kayenta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
35.8 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wetherill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wetherill Inn

Property: Wetherill Inn
Address: 1000 Main Street, Kayenta, AZ 86033-0175
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wetherill Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Wetherill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wetherill Hotel Kayenta
Best Western Wetherill Hotel
Best Western Kayenta
Kayenta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing