We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Great Value”

The Chapman Manor House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Elizabeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chapman Manor House
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Considering the hype, this hotel seemed a bit worn around the edges and shabby. The rooms were small, the bathrooms adequate, and no free wi-fi. While there at peak time, it was still overpriced. The walls were thin and we could hear our neighbor next door late into the night. Management seemed a bit strange also.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blusuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 17 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2010

The Chapman is a great no-frills place to stay, with great value for money. It is set across from the Pier in a safe part of PE and the ocean facing rooms have a lovely view. This is a simple straight forward place to stay, with great service but don't expect anything extra.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewQueen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Booked a double room on 14th Feb for one night (Thank God) based on the high recommendation of "Lonely Planet": Quote "The friendly, family-run Chapman is an upmarket choice with a waterfall (where?) rim-flow pool. Modern rooms (maybe 20 years ago!) with private balconies (no mention of the pigeons mess!)
We were greeted by a rather strange big sweaty chap who asked us to pay for the room as we checked in and strongly recommended a splendid buffet they were laying for St Valentine night. Tired as we were after travelling along the coast we took him at his word and booked a table for the evening. It turned out that the only other clients in the hotel were a visiting university rugby team who dominated the pool area and as most students were quite boisterous.
The room turned out to be was quite clean but had a musky smell to it (when was it used last ?) but had no extras such as a safe or hair dryer and there was very little in the way of toiletry items in the bathroom.
In the evening It turned out that there had been no need to reserve the table as there was only one other couple for the buffet apart from my husband and I during the whole evening. The reason for this became apparent as the food turned out to be quite disgusting and by far the worse meal we had during our month holiday in SA.
The waiter at the buffet was a somewhat weird, reminiscent of Manuel in Fawlty Towers! Still we had a good laugh and were looking forward to a good night sleep. Unfortunately the AC would not work so we had to call reception who grudigngly gave us a very noisy old fan.
The following morning we were awoken by the sound of dozens & dozens of pigeons which were all over the roof of our room and balconies railings contributing yet more to the droppings mess. They were also dozens of them in the swimming pool which helped us change our mind about a pre breakfast swim.
Breakfast itself was a painful ordeal, the waiter did not have a pad to write down our order so he just tried repeating it and us correcting him and as expected he got it wrong and what was delivered was not at all what we ordered. By this time all we wanted to do was to just get out of there.
Upon leaving we made the a point about the issue of the pigeons to the owner ( health hazard in the pool area and mess on the balconies) but he merely tried to make a joke of it by saying "that they were here before the hotel!" In summary definitely one to avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

After being messed around by SA having had to rent a car in George after the airport was closed due to rain!!! we found this quiet refuge in an optimal position near the PE airport. Thank you for the evening snack and the warm welcome. We felt very much at home. Strengthened by a hearty breakfast we were ready to face our homeward trip. Sorry the stay was so short - we couldn't even enjoy the pool. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majua61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Booking this poor hotel was a challenge on its own. After mailing and calling them several times, we decided to find a different place to sleep (for only night). Since we were not able to find something else quickly, we decided to call them again and we booked.
When we arrived at the reception (in the middle of their own restaurant) we saw time stood still in the Chapman. There were huge stacks of paper (no wonder they never saw our mail) and a big sweaty guy showing us the room. We declined the discount coupon for dinner in their restaurant.

It was cheap (400 ZAR / 2 people, 1 night) and it shows: the room was very old and the hotel itself looked dodgy and poorly maintained. After the early 80's don't think things have changed much. I have to say, things looked clean and the location wasn't bad at all.

If you want to stay only one night and head quickly to the airport the next day, the Chapman isn't too bad. If you expect anything more, and want to please your girlfriend: go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This hotel was a total let down especially because there are some beauitiful hotels in the area. It needs a total refurnish, its old with a musty smell, broken drawers in our room and a wooden toilet seat which stank of urine! No safe in the room, no hair dryer and no toiletries. The view is the only redeeming feature of this hotel but its not enough for the price you pay. I wasn't happy with the security in the hotel or i should say the lack of security and I think its only a matter of time until people get badly robbed while staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graceinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We had a very bad experience in this place so much that we didn't even end up staying one night!

We arrived in Port Elizabeth from Plettenberg bay for one night before going on to a game reserve. As it happened one of us was suffering from bad food poisoning and needed to spend the day in bed with maybe some room service.

The experience was bad from the minute we arrived especially since accommodation in South Africa to this stage had been extremely good. The entrance to the hotel is at the back and very awkward with steep steps down to it. We were greeted by our name which was worrying as it meant they were not expecting any other guests that day! The gentleman at reception could only have been described as 'odd' and he didn't speak one word to us apart from asking us to pay upfront even though we hadn't even seen the room. He never mentioned where any of the facilities were, check out time etc. or volunteered advice on the area.

Very obviously a family run hotel (with the strange uncle as the receptionist!!) the owner then gave us some flimsy vouchers for the restaurant (c.€2) looking for appreciation for what was obviously a cheap marketing ploy to make us eat in the restaurant!! The room was along a balcony outside and didn't seem very secure. Although it seemed relatively clean it was very old and musty with an out of date air conditioning system that smelt.

Once we found out there was no room service or safe in the room we decided to leave as it definitely wasn’t a room you could spend the day in. It was at this stage that the owner came out to our car to enquire what we were doing. We advised we were leaving as the room was not what we expected. He sneered and said that we wouldn't be getting our money back. Although we hadn't requested this, a partial refund given we had only stayed 15 minutes would have been a polite gesture.
When we advised why we weren't staying (bad air con, musty room, no safe in the room, no information from the receptionist) he proceeded to insult and verbally abuse us pointing and threatening. Very strange and to be honest scary behaviour. A bad South African version of Fawlty towers!! To be avoided.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Kings Beach
Garden Court Kings Beach
#4 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
646 reviews
1.3 mi away
No5 by Mantis
No5 by Mantis
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
315 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Garden Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
8.9 mi away
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Dolphin Dance Lodge
#27 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
25 reviews
0.9 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapman Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapman Manor House

Address: 11 Vesperdene Road | Humewood Beach, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing