We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laidback”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Natti's Thai Kitchen
Ranked #39 of 352 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
P.E. RSA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Laidback”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Never disappoints. Good food, laidback atmosphere, byo, neccessary to bookover weekends.

Helpful?
Thank Crundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Graaff-Reinet, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun with a crowd”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Take some mates for a good night out, good authentic Thai food.

Helpful?
Thank ASGHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best Thai food in town”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Laid back street food style......a warm welcome and a chilled atmosphere....excellent

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take Natti's for what it is is ... a real Thai eating house in SA”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My motivation for writing this review is the one poor review amongst all the rave reviews of Natti's that I read on Trip Advisor. The only reason I can think of for the poor review was in incorrect idea of Thai eating in general and Natti's in particular is all about.

You cannot expect fast or formal service at Natti's but can be sure that you will get great, real Thai food (as oppossed to Thai-inspired food) and genuine interaction from Mark and Natti. Natti is a trained horticulturlist and grows many of them herbs and vegetables used in her cooking. Mark is a surfer - go figure ! Their 2 sons can often be found doing the waiting on tables while Mark does what he does best - chilling with the clientel. If any of Natti's relatives are over from Thailand, they will also get roped in to help.

I have been to Natti's 3-4 times a year from pretty much it's opening about 12 years ago (IIRC) and have eaten in many other Thai restuarants locally, the UK and in Thailand itself. Of the non-Thailand restuarants I have eaten in, the only one that can compare to Natti's is Pun Kum on the Corner of Whitfield and Windmill Streets in London. My wife and I did a backpacking trip through Thailand recently with a big focus on eating in real Thai places and I can honestly say that Natti's is the closest thing I have seen to an authentic Thai eating house outside of Thailand.

BTW, the only time you are likely to see chopsticks in a restuarant in Thailand is if it is run by ethnic Chinese.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Chilled vibe, great food!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Dining at Natti's is not your usual run-of-the-mill-cookie-cutter restaurant. Firstly, this is a place where you go the relax and not have to worry about stuffy waiters, which fork to use first and overly complicated pretentious food options. It is all about chilling out and enjoying a wonderful meal.

Mark, the owner and waiter, may surprise some patrons as he is often barefoot and doesn't think twice about joining you at your table for a beer. He is very helpful with regards to the menu choices, makes suggestions on what to order for the unsure and one some occasions, if nothing strikes your fancy, will ask you a few questions on your food likes and asks his wife (Natti, the chef) to make something that is not on the menu for you.

The starters are fantastic - do opt for the "mixed starters" as it is a little bit of everything - spring rolls, fish patties, tempura, satay. The mains can be very hot so state your preference with Mark when you order. With regards to mains, their Angry Beef is amazing as well as their Green Curry. The Tamarind dishes are also good. If there is only two of you, you can order half portions and order a greater variety of mains.

There is no liquor licence so bring your own. They do sell cooldrinks, soda water and have ice available. Do make a booking as they are often fully booked.

This is a great chilled out venue which often reminds me of the same island-vibe we experienced in Thailand.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SA-Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natti's Thai Kitchen also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Natti's Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing