We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“contructive critic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria and Alfred Guest House
Ranked #36 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
1 review
“contructive critic”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The room and service was great BUT the TV in the room was not up to the standard of the accommodation. It was too high and a flat screen would be preferable
Secondly we needed a second towel for each guest - even if only a hand towel in addition to the bath towel. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    55
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
54
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very comfortable, staff were friendly.
Room was neat & tidy.
Did not enjoy the shower but the the bath tub was very nice.
Breakfast was good, the staff were very efficient.
Will definitely make use of this facility again.



  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pevina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Good guest house close to the airport. As we left early for a flight the staff prepared a breakfast box fot us which was nice.
The location was a bit difficult to find and not in a very nice neighborhood but the GPS helped.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Levy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We spent one very pleasant night at the V&A. The room was large, clean, and had tv, hot water in the shower... all the things you look for in a nice guesthouse. They charge for internet use after the first half hour, which is the only negative. We ordered pizza delivery, which they let us sit and eat in the bar, and it was a nice place to sit and drink some beers.
I was most grateful to the girls on reception for finding me an emergency appointment with a good dentist the following morning. I had been suffering some discomfort and ended up needing (and having) root canal therapy. They tried lots of dentists before they could get me an appointment, so many thanks to them for taking the time to do so.
On top of the room facilities and the bar there was a large, secure car park out the back, and a pool. I would use this guesthouse again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in no. 17 overnight in April. I would say the room is 4 star, but some serious work needs to be done on the outside. Rubbish bins and old furniture should not be left outside where every guest can see them. The breakfast was very good! Reception very friendly! I would come back to stay overnight!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbarakinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We've stayed at the Victoria and Alfred Guest House twice, and on both visits we really enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious and the breakfast is great. We'll definitely be staying at the Victoria and Alfred on our next visit to Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I enjoyed my V&A for the time I spent in port Elizabeth in March. The staff was friendly, professional, helpful too. They went out of their to make my stay comfortable. I, for an example, needed a table and chair which is not standard in their rooms but it was provided at my request.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AmyasMvunelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.5 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
296 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.3 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
526 reviews
4.1 mi away
Algoa Guest House
Algoa Guest House
#5 of 43 in Summerstrand
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria and Alfred Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria and Alfred Guest House

Property: Victoria and Alfred Guest House
Address: 63 Villiers Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria and Alfred Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavishly restored 15 en-suite bedroom 'Victorian Era' house with modern facilities and 3 conference venues promises the ultimate in luxurious surrounds to satisfy both corporate guests and tourists. Our elegant dining room overlooks the pool and garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria and Alfred Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing