We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria and Alfred Guest House
Ranked #36 of 220 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Nice and calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

V&A Guest House was a nice and calm place, a bit far from the city/ beaches. You need a car or cab to get to town. The staff was very service minded and friendly. Not so much restaurants neerby. Nice pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    55
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
45
54
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herning, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our choosing Alfred and Victoria Guesthouse was caused by our early flight from Port Elizabeth to Johannesburg. We enjoyed our stay and we shall certainly choose the same Guesthouse again if we come back some day. The receptionist was very helpful and we felt very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ditte29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We only spend one night in Port Elizabeth, as we arrived at the airport in the evening and started our road trip the next morning. V&A guesthouse was a perfect place to stay for that, because it is only a five minutes drive from the airport and a really nice and quiet place to stay and relax. We had a large room with a balcony. Breakfast was great! I had not expected the guesthouse being so good for that price, would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelholicmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

First thing's first - the main draw of this hotel is the proximity to the airport. We were only passing through PE before flying to Joburg so it was perfect for us in this respect. A five minute taxi ride and you're there.

The hotel itself is absolutely fine. It's a bit tired looking in parts and is nothing flashy but our stay was comfortable and we had no complaints about the room. The bar didn't seem to be manned past about 8pm so don't expect a crazy night in there, and whilst the food was basic it was decent value for three courses if you're tired and don't want to get a taxi into town.

One last thing - I'd like to praise Nico who I assume is the manager. His customer service is absolutely spot on and belongs in a better hotel than this one. Thank you, Nico.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortinbras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jnb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a fabulous 4 days at the V&A. Awesome rooms, new beds... clean and upmarket venue...the service and support of the staff was 5 star ++ !! I would gladly recommend them anytime for a great stay and feeling like a valued customer !! Thanks !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJSnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We left too early for breakfast and so requested a packed breakfast. We were given polony sandwiches. When we tried to read at night there were no light bulbs in the bedside lamps. It was a cold night in June and the children's beds had no blankets. There was one spare blanket in a cupboard. The rates are expensive and the service is terrible. Rather go to ibayhi up the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank magicalamulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good value for money, good location (close to the airport), excellent breakfast with hot food, cakes, fruits and everything! We've had a really nice long weekend in this guesthouse. No problems at all during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.5 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.3 mi away
Ibhayi Town Lodge
Ibhayi Town Lodge
#37 of 220 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Guesthouse
Anchorage Guesthouse
#30 of 220 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 220 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 220 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria and Alfred Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria and Alfred Guest House

Property: Victoria and Alfred Guest House
Address: 63 Villiers Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria and Alfred Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavishly restored 15 en-suite bedroom 'Victorian Era' house with modern facilities and 3 conference venues promises the ultimate in luxurious surrounds to satisfy both corporate guests and tourists. Our elegant dining room overlooks the pool and garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Victoria and Alfred Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing