We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria and Alfred Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria and Alfred Guest House
Ranked #34 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Victoria and Alfred Guest House”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Convenient for the airport and major beaches. It would have been good value. Our concern was not getting a good night's sleep. we had the room by the front door and were kept awake by people ringing the bell followed by the buzzing of the door. This happened too many times during thenight. They really ought too devise a better system for when trhe desk is unmanned.

Room Tip: Don't get the room by the front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    55
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
54
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We has the easiest check-in. The gates were opened almost before we got to them. Friendly and prepared staff.
Most affordable, especially given the time of the year and the quality of the facilities.
I was able to get a halaal breakfast at the last moment with no trouble. My husband managed to scoff enough of the full English breakfast to beg off food for the rest of the day.
The building is set up as a quad, and if you score a balcony, you will have a view of the pool.
There are some rooms set up on one level at the back of the property - they are therefore wheelchair friendly.
Our room was big and clean. There was excellent lighting, additional indoor seating and a desk. The balcony had additional chairs and a table.
The bathroom is modern and large. Fantastic tub.

There is WiFi, but you need a voucher from reception.
Location is great.

Some niggles-
The shower takes a while to drain, so you find yourself ankle-deep in water for a while before it suddenly drains.
The gutter above the balcony was a bit clogged. We were treated to a constant drip all night.

Overall - good experience. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LalaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Central location - Easy to find on Villiers road.
Check-in could not have been easier. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Great value for money in peak season.
Full english breakfast (they're happy to rustle up something halaal for the wife)
Pool is large and in good condition.
Great big beds. The luxury double room gets you a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The tin roof sounds cool when it rains,but the gutter was too full and there was an awful drip drip drip for long after the rain had stopped.
Modern and spacious bathroom. Shower takes a while to drain. Giant ball and claw footed tub,which had to be foregone due to water restrictions.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We flew to Port Elizabeth, to start our trip on Garden Route. Location of the hotel, 3 minutes drive from the airport, is really an advantage.
The staff were friendly and helpfull. The room was clean. Breakfast was good. We ate also dinner at the hotel and it was fine, homemade-tasting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

After a few days of 'formal' B&Bs in south Africa, the V & A was a godsend: big rooms and lots of character, as you'd expect from an Edwardian house. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful, arranging a dentist for a broken tooth and fitting us in for an evening meal (these two things aren't related!).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

In a quiet area close to airport and beach/ center a spacious guest house with quality beds. We only spend a night as we had to travel back home. Not very special but certainly value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had a brilliant stay at the guest house. The breakfast was amazing especially the hot muffin. We stayed there last April. Staff is so friendly. We were there for the ironman weekend and it PE was our first stop in our 2-week SA trip. we have a big bike box and the staff kindly let us leave the box in their conference room so that we could pick it up on the way back. Very helpful. Not to mention, the double bed was huge and comfy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank King_of_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.5 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
296 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.3 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
526 reviews
4.1 mi away
Algoa Guest House
Algoa Guest House
#5 of 43 in Summerstrand
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria and Alfred Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria and Alfred Guest House

Property: Victoria and Alfred Guest House
Address: 63 Villiers Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria and Alfred Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavishly restored 15 en-suite bedroom 'Victorian Era' house with modern facilities and 3 conference venues promises the ultimate in luxurious surrounds to satisfy both corporate guests and tourists. Our elegant dining room overlooks the pool and garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Victoria and Alfred Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing