We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“audacious museum”
Review of Red Location Museum - CLOSED

Red Location Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE MUSEUM It is designed to challenge conventional views of museum design. It draws on the work of Andreas Huyssen who has written extensively on the concept of memory and history. Visitors are not treated as consumers but active participants. The conventions of representing history as a single story are challenged through the design of the museum spaces. The past is represented as a set of memories that are disconnected yet bound together by themes.
Bunia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“audacious museum”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

gritty reality of the history of a black township and the unrealised hopes in the post apartheid era. Imaginative presentations in the memory boxes and a knowledgeable local guide. For anyone interested in the transition from apartheid to the beginnings of ethnic integration, an excellent museum

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank geoffandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    2
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go there with Kevin!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our guide Kevin (recommended by the Backpackers) was excellent and really passionate about telling us the story of this museum, as well as the struggle to end the apartheid. I think this is a "must visit" location for whoever travels to Port Elizabeth. It is located in a township and serves as a pole of attraction and cultural improvement. So, this is really a "living" museum. Plus, you really learn a lot about apartheid and the struggle carried out both by the whites and the blacks to end it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 342TravelBug1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A sad but necessary museum to visit”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Red Location Museum is a place that takes you back to the terrible years of apartheid. However it doesn't leave you with a feeling of hopelessness when you're done. There are stories depicted in there of survival and courage and pain and yes also hope. I can recommend this to anyone who wants to know more South Africa's history.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Opening of Bay TV”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Building was cold and gives a sense of robust architecture. I like the style of the building for the communities it serves. It speaks volumes. Solid, historical and for all time.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellarine, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A moving account of struggle against Apartheid.”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We visited this modern and evocative museum as part of a Rotary Friendship Exchange. We felt privileged to be able to visit this site in the middle of the New Brighton settlement. New Brighton and Red Location have been know as a "Hot Spot of Struggle" during Apartheid.

For us, it certainly put a different perspective on our perception of the long struggle against Apartheid and balanced out some of the issues and views that we had read about the Australian press some years ago. THe display includes detailed profiles and history of many freedom fighters including Mbeki, Mhlaba and Malgas. The memory boxes and photographic displays were a highlight for us. Especially the photographic essay and commentary of the Langa (Maduna Road) massacre in Uitenhage. Well worth a visit, even though the surrounding locality might be making some feel for their safety. If you get the chance, well worth a visit.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Location Museum also viewed

 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing