We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy guesthouse with very nice hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluewater Beachfront Guest House
Ranked #137 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Kongsberg, Norge
2 reviews
“Cosy guesthouse with very nice hosts”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good location, great hospitality from the owner and staff. Very good beds, breakfast. The only thing was the cleaning of the patio and the swimming pool, could be better. Will come back here next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolennart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
17
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We overnighted to & from the Transkei & both nights were very good - close to highway, very helpful & friendly staff, well appointed room that was really comfy with king size bed, wi-fi, delicious breakfast, close to beach, quiet ......... what more do you need!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

WHen we booking this hotel we ask if there some restaurants around and things to do. As we did not have a car and were told there was several, but there was only a hamburger chain in the corner of a grim shopping center car park and a dodgy bar next door. We ended up just ordering a pizza and eating on the balcony. The rooms were ok needed a renovation and the pool was a bit dirty and needed some landscapping and comfy chairs.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Thankfully we stayed only one night at this lodge. We booked it primarily because we wanted to get laundry done and I needed to do some work upon arrival and they advertise a business center - not sure where that was.
Good Points -I was able to get on the internet and do some work - that is a plus in South Africa where wifi at lodges is sometimes tough to find. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and had a water view - we booked the Seaview Suite. The service was good - everyone here is very nice and helpful.
The lodge is also quite reasonable in price - but there is a reason for that.
Negatives - The bathroom in our room is in bad need of a renovation - the toilet broke and we had to take the top off the toilet tank each time to flush the toilet. My husband tried to fix it but the mechanism had pretty much disintegrated - something that happened well before our visit.
Another reviewer mentioned that there is nothing in the area with regards to restaurants, etc. That is true. This guest house is in the middle of a subdivision in Port Elizabeth that has no amenities to offer. Due to that we had dinner at the guest house. It was an interesting dinner in that it seemed they were feeding an awful lot of people that definitely were not staying at the guest house. The food itself was fine for a buffet dinner. The safe in the room did not work. We didn't leave the property during our stay but that would have been an issue if we had - especially considering the amount of people that showed up for dinner from 5-9PM that were not staying at the guest house.
We did get our laundry done for a reasonable price but I didn't realize that pretty much everywhere you go in South Africa they will do your laundry for a reasonable price.
I don't like to give negative reviews but I also use Trip Advisor to research properties and appreciate an honest review so I know what to expect when I get to a property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie123081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed one night at the Bluewater Beachfront Guesthouse. From our spontaneous arrival until our departure, the staff was very friendly & always available. The atmosphere is familiy-like. The seaside flat, sleeping 4 people, is very spacy and has a balcony with a spectacular sea view. Beeing three people, the price was a bit above the average to which we were accustomed along the Garden route. Although we arrived sopntaneously at 6 o clock pm, everything was clean. Breakfast was fine and once again, the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schoenhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

There is no a/c. The room would just not cool down.
The room lighting is very poor. Excessively powerful bulbs in fan lamp.
Electrical problems with switches in the room.
No phone in room.
View from terrace rooms is of back side of dunes at beach...not much view, really.
Breakfast was standard, nothing special.
Staff was a mix of untrained newcomers who seem to know little of the business and a kindly manager.
No big complaints, but nothing to rave about, either.
This place is just too far from any services of any kind....and at least 15 K from the
tourist area of Port Elizabeth. No restaurants, no cafe's, no services. Just a house in need of a remod in a suburban setting behind a sand dune near the beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Bluewater Beachfront is one of the most beautiful places we stayed in South Africa. The friendly and very helpful staff made our stay most enjoyable. The location is secluded enough to enjoy a peaceful sleep with the ocean at your doorstep. The only drawback on our stay was the all night party a few doors away that sounded like it was in our room. When the police finally shut it down the peacefulness resumed. The food is delicious and well worth enjoying. I highly recommend Bluewater Beachfront to anyone looking for a stay that goes above and beyond any chain hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnipegBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Blue Guesthouse
Le Blue Guesthouse
#19 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
87 reviews
8.5 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Bluewater Guesthouse
#162 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
#45 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
42 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bayside Guesthouse
Bayside Guesthouse
#6 of 43 in Summerstrand
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautilus Guest House
Nautilus Guest House
#94 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Beachfront Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Beachfront Guest House

Property: Bluewater Beachfront Guest House
Address: 24 Bluewater Drive | Bluewater Bay, Port Elizabeth 6210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluewater Beachfront Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluewater Beachfront Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing