We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Forest Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Hall Guest House
Ranked #1 of 238 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Once again I stayed at Forest Hall and had a thoroughly wonderful time, friendly and very helpful hosts, James and Hilary, who do everything to assist and made my visit comfortable and welcoming with everything I needed to enjoy my visit to PE. I had lots of shopping to do and they helped with everything, nothing is too much trouble. Forest Hall is quiet and away from the busy city but close enough to the airport and shopping but also the beach was only ten minutes away if needed. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms that I have stayed in have been most comfortable with great facilities for self catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi Vicky
Thank you for your review It is always great having you to stay and we feel you have become part of the family here at Forest Hall Sorry John was not with you this time .Always pleased to be of assistance recommending places as we love our city Port Elizabeth and what we have available here which so often our tourists are not aware of Hope the flat will get sorted out eventually
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 441 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

My fiancé two friends and I stayed a night at Forest Hall Guest House. If we had know how beautiful it was we would have stayed at least a nother night.
We were warmly welcomed by James, the owner of the Guest House. The estate is huge with a big garden with flowers and trees all very well maintained. In the center there is a pool that was probaly a fountain before. The rooms and the whole estate is very stylish and has this "shabby chic" theme which suits perfectly. Everything is very clean and you feel directly at home. The breakfast area is beautiful and you have a buffet with various breads, cereals, fruits, juices etc. James takes the order for the warm breakfast like eggs, tomatos of whatever your stomach desires. Everything was very delicious.
I will definately be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hi Tracy
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am so pleased your group enjoyed it here despite the unbelievably hot weather during your visit It isa lot cooler now.Thankfully you were able to enjoy our Romanesque swimming pool . Glad you enjoyed the breakfasts .We hope to see you back here again one day and maybe for longer
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our tight schedule through Swaziland and SA only allowed us a one-night stay at Forest Hall but that didn't stop James and his Team immersing us in luxury and super-attentive service..........in very comfortable accommodation overlooking beautiful gardens. Thank you!

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hi Bill
Thanks for taking thet ime to review Forest Hall
Sorry your stay at Forest Hall was so short and that you never got a real chance to get to know our city Port Elizabeth. Glad you were happy here and trust you enjoyed your time down the Garden Route
Best wishes
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Forest Hall. It was one of our best accomodation during our travel through South Africa where no wishes had been left open. It's a jewel with a park-alike garden with lots of birds. It's quiet and peaceful. James is a very friendly and helpful host. We did enjoy the welcome-Sherry, definetely! The room, bathroom and even the breakfast room are decorated very tasteful and luxurious.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hi Robert
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Forest Hall and were able to appreciate the little extra touch like the sherry and Lindt chocolates We trust you had a safe trip back home and hope that maybe one day we will see you back here again
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I was very pleased with the services of Forest Hall Guest House. Their friendly staff, James, Nancy and Pamela was accommodating and always had a smile. The rooms are beautifully decorated and they cater for absolutely everything. The garden with its majestic trees, lawns and Romanesque swimming pool bring an air of tranquility and one can only be relaxed in their setting. As our company frequently makes use of accommodation in PE, we have decided that we will be booking with Forest Hall each time we visit on business or for pleasure. I can highly recommend them to anyone wanting to get their money's worth and more!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Hi Lana
Thank you for your favourable review It is always good to get feedback from guests on their stay and so pleased you enjoyed your experience at Forest Hall We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back here soon again in the future
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The guest house is a regular stop over on my frequent work trips to Port Elizabeth. The rooms are well appointed and the location is very quiet, ensuring that I am rested for my meetings and legal cases. The staff are courteous and the breakfast is a generous offering. Am very happy to call this a highlight of my trips to Port Elizabeth.

It is well positioned, close to the CBD, airport, shopping centres and beaches.

Room Tip: The rooms adjacent to the swimming pool have particularly good natural lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RaulDimitriu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Hi Raul
Thank you for your review Glad you feel at home here It is always great being able to accommodate you and look forward to seeing you back here again soon
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great Hospitality, James arranged a Restaurant booking for our crew on our arrival, also a 6am breakfast. The Italian gents who normally stay at hotels preferred this Guest House to previous Hotel stays in PE.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Hi Daniel
Thanks for your review So pleased your group were happy at Forest Hall especially your Italian colleagues. We hope to see you back here again soon
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.6 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
313 reviews
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 238 in Port Elizabeth
573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Millbury Guest House
Millbury Guest House
#3 of 238 in Port Elizabeth
203 reviews
3.7 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#5 of 238 in Port Elizabeth
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hall Guest House

Address: 84 River Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $85 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Hall Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Hall Guest House is an affordable 4 star luxury guest house,set in an award winning 1'5 acre park-like treed garden with a Romanesque swimming pool with pool deck with loungers/umbrellas in the centrally positioned lush garden suburb of Walmer,Port Elizabeth.Tennis court and trampoline and second swimming pool.Conveniently close to PE airport,golf courses,pristine beaches,shopping malls,fantastic restaurants and all tourist attractions.Come relax & enjoy this unique farm-like setting in the city with birdsong,peace and tranquility.Ideal B&B/self catering accommodation for business,families,groups and tourists.All home comforts.Free Wifi.Delicious English breakfasts.Just 45 minutes drive to malaria free Addo Elephant Park and other Big 5 Game Parks.Shuttle service on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Forest Hall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing