We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forest Hall Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Sea Otters Lodge(Port Elizabeth)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
$86
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
$172
$162
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
$86
$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluewater Beachfront Guest House(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
$65
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No5 by Mantis(Summerstrand)
$169
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treetops Guesthouse(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
$49
$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveler rating
401
51
10
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
51
10
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseold treeshelpful hostscomplimentary sherryrooms are beautifully decoratedlittle extrasone nightswimming poolexcellent facilitiesbeautiful gardenbreakfast roomplace to staythe main houseclose to the airportgarden routedelicious breakfasta wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 465 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had a lovely few days at Forest Hall whilst visiting PE for a wedding. My room was lovely and the service and help from James and his staff was fantastic. It was my very first experience of South Africa and a delightful introduction.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hi Michael
Thanks for taking the time to review us at Forest Hall I am glad you enjoyed your time here and South Africa generally and hope it will be the first of many trips in the future to our country

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Forest Hall was an excellent choice for our overnight stay. The accommodation was very good, food delicious and plentiful and James was an excellent host. We would highly recommend and hope to stay again and for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HilCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Forest Hall Sorry it was so quick Hopefully you can enjoy a longer stay here next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a perfect guest house to start our Garden Route vacation. It was like staying in your best friends guest room. The breakfast was delicious. The staff was very friendly. The room was super clean,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johanna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks for your great review. I am so pleased you felt so at home at Forest Hall and were happy here . Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in SA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were recommended to Forest Hall Guests House by friends and certainly were not disappointed.The reservation was handled well, all was done according to request.
The rooms are large, the bathrooms large and well equipped and the whole place is very comfortable.
The staff and owners were very helpful and friendly, this place is highly recommended.
If one would look for one flaw, it might be breakfast, which is good, but not as good as the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnolds R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks for your review on Forest Hall .We are pleased that you were happy here and enjoyed your stay .Thanks for your feedback on breakfast We constantly strive to improve our service and quality offered to our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am lucky enough to visit Forest Hall about once a year, and it's always a treat. I feel so at home, enjoy the relaxing setting, beautiful garden, friendly staff, and attention to detail made by James, the owner, especially. The rooms and bathrooms are tastefully decorated, having a kitchenette with a frig is something that some other b & b's don't have. I always look forward to the delicious breakfasts set in their inviting Tuscan style breakfast room. The only thing I could even vaguely criticize, and this is totally personal, I prefer the extra bedding used on the odd cold night to be slightly lighter.

Room Tip: I try a different room every time, and have never been disappointed
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks for your review Always great having you stay at Forest Hall and pleased to always get feedback .We have now added lighter throws into the rooms as per your suggestion. Hope to see you back at Forest Hall on your next trip to Port Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews