We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest House on Garden Route”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forest Hall Guest House
Ranked #1 of 230 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a perfect guest house to start our Garden Route vacation. It was like staying in your best friends guest room. The breakfast was delicious. The staff was very friendly. The room was super clean,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johanna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks for your great review. I am so pleased you felt so at home at Forest Hall and were happy here . Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in SA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for Forest Hall Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 421 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were recommended to Forest Hall Guests House by friends and certainly were not disappointed.The reservation was handled well, all was done according to request.
The rooms are large, the bathrooms large and well equipped and the whole place is very comfortable.
The staff and owners were very helpful and friendly, this place is highly recommended.
If one would look for one flaw, it might be breakfast, which is good, but not as good as the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnolds R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks for your review on Forest Hall .We are pleased that you were happy here and enjoyed your stay .Thanks for your feedback on breakfast We constantly strive to improve our service and quality offered to our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am lucky enough to visit Forest Hall about once a year, and it's always a treat. I feel so at home, enjoy the relaxing setting, beautiful garden, friendly staff, and attention to detail made by James, the owner, especially. The rooms and bathrooms are tastefully decorated, having a kitchenette with a frig is something that some other b & b's don't have. I always look forward to the delicious breakfasts set in their inviting Tuscan style breakfast room. The only thing I could even vaguely criticize, and this is totally personal, I prefer the extra bedding used on the odd cold night to be slightly lighter.

Room Tip: I try a different room every time, and have never been disappointed
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks for your review Always great having you stay at Forest Hall and pleased to always get feedback .We have now added lighter throws into the rooms as per your suggestion. Hope to see you back at Forest Hall on your next trip to Port Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fantastic stay at what has to be one of PE's friendliest b&b's. The setting is beautiful, and finished with attention to detail and African touches. James is a consummate host and went above and beyond expectations to fit our needs. The little touches like the chocs and sherry, the well equipped kitchenette, and the fresh croissants at breakfast took it to the next level. You won't go wrong staying here. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pedantix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks for this It is always reassuring to get such a positive review from a guest in order to know that the little things added to the room do count and are appreciated .We hope to see you and your family back someday at Forest Hall Thank you for taking the time to write your review so much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved it - thank you James for a really warm welcome and a comfortable, homely stay. Very clean and comfortable rooms with all the mod cons and necessities for a short or long stay. The bathrooms were particularly wow! Really pretty gardens, felt like a little oasis away from any noise. Breakfasts were excellent. Off street parking. Pool which would be fab in summer, just a bit cold in winter. A real English country feel to it.

Room Tip: I didn't get a chance to see any of the other rooms but judging by the two rooms I did see, I wo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thanks so much for your quick response with your review. It was great having you here at Forest Hall and we hope to be able to accommodate you and your family again under better circumstances sometime in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful room with all required amenities, in a lush garden setting. Peace and quiet! Great central location - near the airport and local shops. Really an excellent choice of guest house for both business travellers and leisure seekers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Corne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks Corne
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Forest Hall and feel we offer a good value for money stay
Thanks for taking your time to review us So much appreciated the feedback Hope to see you back here again soon
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a dreamy destination. Extremely comfey accommodation with everything you need. Looking out onto a fairy garden. Delicious breakfast. An such amazing host and owner, James. It was a family reunion and he assisted in every way possible. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo26261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hi Jo
Thanks so much for your review It was great having you and your family staying at Forest Hall and glad you enjoyed the family reunion We hope to see you back here again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
3.1 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
189 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
547 reviews
5.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Millbury Guest House
Millbury Guest House
#2 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hall Guest House

Address: 84 River Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $69 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Hall Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Hall Guest House is an affordable 4 star luxury guest house,set in an award winning 1'5 acre park-like treed garden with a Romanesque swimming pool with pool deck with loungers/umbrellas in the centrally positioned lush garden suburb of Walmer,Port Elizabeth.Tennis court and trampoline and second swimming pool.Conveniently close to PE airport,golf courses,pristine beaches,shopping malls,fantastic restaurants and all tourist attractions.Come relax & enjoy this unique farm-like setting in the city with birdsong,peace and tranquility.Ideal B&B/self catering accommodation for business,families,groups and tourists.All home comforts.Free Wifi.Delicious English breakfasts.Just 45 minutes drive to malaria free Addo Elephant Park and other Big 5 Game Parks.Shuttle service on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Forest Hall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing