We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forest Hall Guest House
Ranked #1 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Forest Hall Guest House in Walmer, P.E.
The room was beautiful and clean and the beds were very comfortable.
The garden and surroundings were lovely and very peaceful.
The hosts and servants were very friendly and helpful.
We would definitely like to stay again when we are in P.E.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review .It was great being able to accommodate you and happy that you could enjoy our garden for mother's day with your folks with the great weather we are having at present .Pleased you enjoyed your time at Forest Hall.We hope to see you on your next visit to PE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    46
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
105
161
28
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Booked here for a night as we were starting our Garden Route trip from here, it was highly rated on TA and close to the airport. Everything about it is fantastic, setting, rooms, food - highly rated!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pikes285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and were happy with everything whilst here at Forest Hall .Sorry so short .Hope Trip Advisor reviews were a true reflection of what Forest Hall has to offer our guests
Trust you enjoyed your trip down the Garden Route and hope to see you back in our country again sometime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
Level Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed here for a few days on work. My hosted had suggested a chain hotel which would have been more expensive but I found this place on the internet. It has lovely, one-off rooms, set in a lovely large garden. The host, James, is great, and the TV, wifi, etc all worked very well for me. Look no further!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your support and your favourable review and choosing to stay at Forest Hall on your visit to Port Elizabeth .I am pleased you were happy with everything here and with free Wifi connectivity and our rates .We hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Thank you James and your team for making our stay so welcoming and comfortable, we stayed at Forest Hall whilst on business in April, then some of our team and our American partners stayed again earlier this week. We will always choose Forest Hall when we are in PE.
The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious and set in the most lovely garden.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank UniversalFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It was really great having you to stay and so appreciate you returning with your American businessmen .I am pleased you like the setting with the spacious garden and all the trees. Our aim at Forest Hall is to try and make it feel like home from home and so pleased you felt this. Hope to see you back here again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We love Forest Hall! We have stayed there more than once with our now 4 year old little boy. The huge garden with lovely peaceful trees, a trampoline and swimming pool (with a net if required)is a wonderful place to arrive after any journey or flight. James and Hilary are wonderful hosts, accommodating any small concern if any, and the rooms, either self catering or B&B, are always clean, beautifully furnished and decorated, and thoughtfully prepared with a complimentary sherry on arrival. Do yourself a favour and do stay here if ever in Port Elizabeth. We'll be back without a doubt.

Room Tip: The self catering rooms are set further away from the main house and have the most enchanting privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi Beth
Pleased to be able to accommodate you back at Forest Hall again with your family .Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We highly appreciate your comments and hope to see you back here again with your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have just returned from South Africa and spent more than half my time at Forest Hall, 11 nights. I arrived quite exhausted and left restored. I had the room next to the swimming pool. It was huge with a fabulous en suite. I felt comfortable, safe and secure at Forest Hall. I look forward to returning

Room Tip: I believe that Forest Hall has a range of accommodation so it is worth having a chat about what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katejacobs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
It was really great accommodating you at Forest Hall. I hope you have got home with new energy and feel restored . I am pleased you liked Port Elizabeth,the 10 minute town and were able to got to feel what we have to offer our tourists here .We hope to see you back someday again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stopped at first hall on our way from the garden route to hogsback. We found a gorgeous little retreat, spacious rooms, warm welcome, lovely bed, sheets and towels, sky TV! And a tasty breakfast. Highly recommended if you are stopping in PE!

Room Tip: They all looked huge and stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your 1 night stopover with us.and thanks for your review.I trust you enjoyed the wedding you attended and the Hogsback ,our very own honeymoon destination
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
4.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
470 reviews
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
296 reviews
1.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
526 reviews
5.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hall Guest House

Property: Forest Hall Guest House
Address: 84 River Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Hall Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Hall Guest House is an affordable 4 star luxury guest house,set in an award winning 1'5 acre park-like treed garden with a Romanesque swimming pool with pool deck with loungers/umbrellas in the centrally positioned lush garden suburb of Walmer,Port Elizabeth.Tennis court and trampoline and second swimming pool.Conveniently close to PE airport,golf courses,pristine beaches,shopping malls,fantastic restaurants and all tourist attractions.Come relax & enjoy this unique farm-like setting in the city with birdsong,peace and tranquility.Ideal B&B/self catering accommodation for business,families,groups and tourists.All home comforts.Free Wifi.Delicious English breakfasts.Just 45 minutes drive to malaria free Addo Elephant Park and other Big 5 Game Parks.Shuttle service on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Forest Hall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing