We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome in PE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forest Hall Guest House
Ranked #1 of 236 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked Forest Hall as our first night in PE following a long journey from the UK - we wanted somewhere close to PE and the airport so we could aclimatise before setting off for the Eastern cape. Forest Hall is perfectly situated for both the city and the airport (just a 10 minute drive from either) and we were warmly welcomed by James on arrival, he was very helpful with suggestions and information. Our only disappointment was that we had booked a luxury room and due to a resident having to prolong her stay due to a family crisis our originally booked room had not been vacated - so we were put into a standard room instead. As we didnt get to see the original room we booked it is difficult to compare what we missed, but the standard room was compact, although tastefully furnished and comforatble - with a good sized bathroom, offering both shower and bath. James did provide a bottle of wine as compensation for the downgrade, we would both have preferred the luxury room but given the circumstances we felt that it was inappropriate to make a fuss. I would definately return again and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for your review and being so accommodating to stay in the standard room as opposed to the luxury room booked .
This did enable another guest to continue staying in the luxury room which was of huge assistance to them as her mom had passed away the day before and needed to prolong her stay at Forest Hall due to this crisis .By doing this kind deed they did not have to vacate their room at this very difificult time. They really appreciated your understanding and we thank you for being so accommodating
We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip inSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 436 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier. Rooms nice and quiet, lovely grounds and breakfast is great. A tour company had forgotten to pick us up,but Manager Yvonne soon sorted them out and got us on the tour for which we were grateful. James and Hilary (owners) certainly made us welcome and gave us a lift into town and to the airport.
Will certainly recommend to all.

Room Tip: I think all the bungalows are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi Sandie
Thanks so much for your favourable review on Forest Hall .We really enjoyed having you to stay and pleased that Yvonne was able to sort out your safari problems.
We trust you enjoyed the rest of your time spent in South Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Forest Hall for only one night due to the extremely convenient location to the PE airport and based on their wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. The property is a gracious old family home set in a beautifully tended garden. All the rooms are tastefully decorated with many little bonus features like robes, sherry, TV, and heated blankets (which we needed in the abnormally COLD winter we experienced while in Africa!) The bathrooms are extremely well appointed with lovely stone showers and giant soaking baths.
James and Hilary are wonderful, welcoming hosts! James personally showed us our room, offered suggestions for where to eat dinner, and gave us ideas for activities we could enjoy during our one evening in PE. Going above and beyond--Hilary even got up at like 5am the next morning to make us a special hot breakfast before we had to rush off to our early flight to Durban--it was so nice of her as she could have just as easily packed us a cold breakfast (which is what most places do if you cannot eat during their normal breakfast hours!).
We loved our one night stay at his conveniently situated, elegant and professionally run guest house. We would highly recommend Forest Hall to anyone visiting Port Elizabeth-we only wish our stay could have been longer than just one night!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hundleychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

It was wonderful meeting you .Very pleased you enjoyed your very short stay with us at Forest Hall .Maybe you could spend a litle longer with us in Port Elizabeth next time you visit SA .
Thanks for your fabulous review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

James (owner/operator) and his family were very friendly and helpful.The beds were comfortable and the electric blankets were great as we had a few nights of cold weather. James had good kowdledge and advise for tours and sight seeing. We had a great stay and would go back if we get to SOuth Africa again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thanks so much for your review.Much appreciated and pleased you enjoyed your time at Forest Hall
Hope to see you one day back in South Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

As a neighbour of Forest Hall, I knew the property but had not experienced it's charms first hand until I had a fire in my home recently and needed somewhere to go. Firstly fellow guests came to my rescue as my kitchen was in flames and then got me settled in to the most comfortable bed in the most beautiful room. The setting is just lovely!!!!! James and Hilary and their staff (and here I must say a special thanks to Yvonne who calmed me down and made me a wonderful breakfast every morning) are just so relaxed and welcoming and you feel right at home. Great bed!!!!!! really cosy and comfy. Top class B&B, highly rated and positioned well for visitors to our city. There is also a lovely overview of the history of Forest Hall and the area. Keep up the great work and again thank you so much for your kindness. Lesley Barnard

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thanks Les for your review. I am so pleased we were able to assist you with your crisis and so pleased you could experience Forest Hall first hand .
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review .Much appreciated .
We hope to have you back next door soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and myself took a couple of days in Port Elizabeth to do some shopping. We booked in at Forest Hall Guest House and were met byJames who made us feel at home. The room was beautifully decorated and fully equipped. The lovely bed had a lovely electric blanket as the weather wasn't so good. The breakfast was exceptional with a full english and fruit salad yoghurt, cheeses, lovely breads, home made scones and the cosy dining room was picture perfect as James the owner had painted the lovely art work on the wall. Forest Hall is a Guest House that will be visited by us again and again.
Sandra & Mullen

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you for choosing Forest Hall on your recent visit to Port Elizabeth .Thank you too for your encouraging review. So glad you liked staying hereas well as my art . Hope to see you back sometime soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Forest Hall Guest House, situated in an extensive mature garden, offers excellent accommodation near the center of town. I was visiting to attend a school reunion, so had the pleasure of relaxing with James and Hillary for three days, between hectic old-boy activities. My room was large, the decor soothing, and the shower luxurious. James cooked the breakfast (with all the trimmings) after I had enjoyed a splash in the Romanesque swimming pool. Chatting with other guests at breakfast soon disclosed that they were regular visitors to PE, who would not consider using any other accommodation besides Forest Hall. I can certainly recommend it to anyone, including families, who wants to experience a little of the traditional Port Elizabeth genteel living.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located within the main house, others farther away, in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kobus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thanks for your review It was good to see you again and catch up on news and have you stay back at Forest Hall
Hope to see you here again ,maybe at another school reunion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.6 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
308 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
354 reviews
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 236 in Port Elizabeth
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hall Guest House

Address: 84 River Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $71 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Hall Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Hall Guest House is an affordable 4 star luxury guest house,set in an award winning 1'5 acre park-like treed garden with a Romanesque swimming pool with pool deck with loungers/umbrellas in the centrally positioned lush garden suburb of Walmer,Port Elizabeth.Tennis court and trampoline and second swimming pool.Conveniently close to PE airport,golf courses,pristine beaches,shopping malls,fantastic restaurants and all tourist attractions.Come relax & enjoy this unique farm-like setting in the city with birdsong,peace and tranquility.Ideal B&B/self catering accommodation for business,families,groups and tourists.All home comforts.Free Wifi.Delicious English breakfasts.Just 45 minutes drive to malaria free Addo Elephant Park and other Big 5 Game Parks.Shuttle service on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Forest Hall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing