We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forest Hall Guest House
Ranked #1 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Friendly and Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

James (owner/operator) and his family were very friendly and helpful.The beds were comfortable and the electric blankets were great as we had a few nights of cold weather. James had good kowdledge and advise for tours and sight seeing. We had a great stay and would go back if we get to SOuth Africa again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks so much for your review.Much appreciated and pleased you enjoyed your time at Forest Hall
Hope to see you one day back in South Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    46
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
103
159
25
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

As a neighbour of Forest Hall, I knew the property but had not experienced it's charms first hand until I had a fire in my home recently and needed somewhere to go. Firstly fellow guests came to my rescue as my kitchen was in flames and then got me settled in to the most comfortable bed in the most beautiful room. The setting is just lovely!!!!! James and Hilary and their staff (and here I must say a special thanks to Yvonne who calmed me down and made me a wonderful breakfast every morning) are just so relaxed and welcoming and you feel right at home. Great bed!!!!!! really cosy and comfy. Top class B&B, highly rated and positioned well for visitors to our city. There is also a lovely overview of the history of Forest Hall and the area. Keep up the great work and again thank you so much for your kindness. Lesley Barnard

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks Les for your review. I am so pleased we were able to assist you with your crisis and so pleased you could experience Forest Hall first hand .
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review .Much appreciated .
We hope to have you back next door soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and myself took a couple of days in Port Elizabeth to do some shopping. We booked in at Forest Hall Guest House and were met byJames who made us feel at home. The room was beautifully decorated and fully equipped. The lovely bed had a lovely electric blanket as the weather wasn't so good. The breakfast was exceptional with a full english and fruit salad yoghurt, cheeses, lovely breads, home made scones and the cosy dining room was picture perfect as James the owner had painted the lovely art work on the wall. Forest Hall is a Guest House that will be visited by us again and again.
Sandra & Mullen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for choosing Forest Hall on your recent visit to Port Elizabeth .Thank you too for your encouraging review. So glad you liked staying hereas well as my art . Hope to see you back sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Forest Hall Guest House, situated in an extensive mature garden, offers excellent accommodation near the center of town. I was visiting to attend a school reunion, so had the pleasure of relaxing with James and Hillary for three days, between hectic old-boy activities. My room was large, the decor soothing, and the shower luxurious. James cooked the breakfast (with all the trimmings) after I had enjoyed a splash in the Romanesque swimming pool. Chatting with other guests at breakfast soon disclosed that they were regular visitors to PE, who would not consider using any other accommodation besides Forest Hall. I can certainly recommend it to anyone, including families, who wants to experience a little of the traditional Port Elizabeth genteel living.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located within the main house, others farther away, in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks for your review It was good to see you again and catch up on news and have you stay back at Forest Hall
Hope to see you here again ,maybe at another school reunion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Forest Hall Guest House is my favourite place in Port Elizbeth.
I love going there. Hosts, James and Hilary, are always warm and welcoming, the rooms, in a peacful garden setting, are spacious, beautifully furished and ultra comfortable, This place has soul and i would highly recommend it .
Barrie Pringle. . Bedford.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks Barrie
It is always good seeing you and thank you for choosing Forest Hall on your visits to Port Elizabeth.
See you again soon .
Regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Thank you one again James and Hilary for your hospitality, FORREST HALL has become like a second home for me. The rooms are comfortable and peaceful and just what I need after a stressful day of running around on business trips.
Your personal attention to any of my requirements far exceeds any service I receive at other places where I stay.

Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Always good having you stay at Forest Hall
Thanks so much for your review .It is good to hear you feel at home here .We look forward to welcoming you back at forest Hall on the 19th aug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We love visiting Forest Hall - the atmosphere is tranquil and homely, the rooms are extremely comfortable, and beautifully decorated, each with its own character. I feel so at home there! Hilary and James are the perfect hosts, anticipating one's needs seemingly effortlessly. I always enjoy breakfast time the most, the room is delightful, where one can chat to James and the other guests, if one wishes, regarding the local attractions, upcoming events etc. Forest Hall is in an upmarket area, very centrally situated, in relation to shops, the airport etc, and has an award winning garden and swimming pool. The staff are cheerful, helpful and polite. We'll definitely go there again the next time we visit Port Elizabeth

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. It was good to have you stay back at Forest Hall. We look forward to having you return to Forest Hall soon again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
4.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
5.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
4.8 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
4.8 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hall Guest House

Property: Forest Hall Guest House
Address: 84 River Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Hall Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Hall Guest House is an affordable 4 star luxury guest house,set in an award winning 1'5 acre park-like treed garden with a Romanesque swimming pool with pool deck with loungers/umbrellas in the centrally positioned lush garden suburb of Walmer,Port Elizabeth.Tennis court and trampoline and second swimming pool.Conveniently close to PE airport,golf courses,pristine beaches,shopping malls,fantastic restaurants and all tourist attractions.Come relax & enjoy this unique farm-like setting in the city with birdsong,peace and tranquility.Ideal B&B/self catering accommodation for business,families,groups and tourists.All home comforts.Free Wifi.Delicious English breakfasts.Just 45 minutes drive to malaria free Addo Elephant Park and other Big 5 Game Parks.Shuttle service on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Forest Hall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing