We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely incredible place with the warmest hospitality anywhere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Elizabeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amakhala Game Reserve
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed at Bush Lodge. The place is truly stunning. We have stayed in top luxury hotels for business and leisure worldwide, so we know high quality when we see it. This was an exquisite lodge with opulent rooms, stunning layout, fireplace, gorgeous bath tub in the room, top quality service, a chef who has produced Michelin quality menus with steak and fish dishes of awesome flavour and textures that make you long for more. The rangers, Graham and Jacques, are terrific. I really think this place is somewhere you cannot but enjoy. My advice - book your stay and enjoy the Safari.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark1000_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 98 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2010

We are more than happy with our experience at the Amakhala Safari Lodge. The site on 8000 hectares of land is magnificent, the scenery while on the two game rides a day is absolutely stunning. Our suite was like a small cottage, cozy with all ameneties, well decorated and we felt like we were very private and safe. The lodge staff are warm people who were attentive to our needs, very discreet and professionnal. The food at all times, was very tasty, varied, abundant and well presented.

Our ranger Weenan, was just great at finding the animals and making sure that we would see the big fives. He was very nice, informative, professionnal and entertaining.

Great service by Casper and Edwards the two butlers. Our experience at the Amakhala Safari Lodge was enhanced by the little details that management and staff provided us with every day. Three great meals a day. Coffee breaks in the morning and sundowners at the end of the afternoon at carefully chosen spots by our ranger. The hot towels presented by our great butler Casper every time upon returning from the game rides; the drinks , fresh fruits and snacks left in our room beeing replenished every day and the nice touch of a scented lit candle by the bathtub along with a bottle of bubbly and two glasses every evening felt very luxurious. In short, an excellent, excellent value for the price and a smooth first time safari experience . We saw the elephants, the lion and lioness, zebras, giraffes, monkeys, buffaloes, rhinos, buffalos, many antelopes and cheetas. Bring a fleece and a windbreaker, no kidding it gets cold on the rides!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripEvaluator10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I stayed with my elderly mother and friend at the Safari Lodge for two nights. The service was excellent and everyone went out of there way to be helpful and friendly. Although the animals are not that many as at game farms in the northern part of the country, it is the total experience that counts. The attention to detail was amazing - from the hot water bottels on the game drive to the cold champagne next to your bath in the evenings! To be recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leximika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Leeuwenbosch is an execellent family friendly way to experience the amazing wildlife of South Africa - malaria free and safe for kids of almost all ages, the safari drives (2 daily with your stay) are excellent. In one day we saw everying we really wanted to see - lions, cheeta, elephant, giraffe, zebra, a range of boks, ostrich, etc.

The bar - having a drink and hearing tall tales from Bill the owner a highlight! - and dining room (old-worldly atmosphere by the fire in this lovely old house) were a lovely experience. Babysitting is available all the time (day and night) and our room was beautiful. I loved the old claw-footed bathtub and having a seperate bedroom for my son.

The Leeuwenbosch experienc was excellent value for money, a lovely three days to enjoy the safari experience as a family and to meet other travellers doing the same.

Also amazing is that eco aspect of five previous farms that have formed the Amarkhala Reserve together - returning the environment back to its native state and re-introducing native animals as an alternative to farming.

My only compliant was that the lodge is fairly close to the N2 so you do get some traffic noise - not what you would expect when on safari stay. But that was a small trade off for the ease of access and family-friendly amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blairpalese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

When we arrived at Amakhala, we received a very warm and friendly welcome from the staff. We were also fortunate to go at the end of the season during a weekday which meant that we had the whole place to ourselves, and a private tour with our new starter ranger Mike who did a fantastic job of taking care of us and showing us the sights.

What sets Amakhala apart from other Safaris is the breathtaking scenery and the vast territory on which it is based, this does however mean that you have to work a little harder to find your game but yet none the less extremely rewarding.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Sting54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Wanted to go to a reserve in the Eastern Cape and the Woodbury Lodge at Amakhala was suggested.
Wow, what a great location, great food and friendly staff. The knowledge of our ranger, Matt, was superb and we learnt so much. Even the encounter with the elephant up close was amazing and searching for the lions was so much fun.
Gutted we didn't find the chetars, Matt certainly made an huge effort to find it.
Dinner was fab and eating together and meeting the owners of the reserve was a special thing.
Would love to go back and would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahandIanHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We were simply awestruck by the beauty of the Safari Lodge. The staff at the lodge palnned the most maginificent wedding ceremony. We were hoping for something romantic and as if by majic the most breathtaking ceremony came together. We will never forget our safari wedding. The staff was first rate and the game reserve had a rare beauty we will cherish forever.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moconnor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elizabeth
12.8 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
366 reviews
19.3 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,326 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
250 reviews
8.7 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,132 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhala Game Reserve

Address: R342 Karel Landman, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $528 - $779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhala Game Reserve is an ideal choice for your Big 5 Safari destination. This 7,500 ha reserve is renowned for its truly awesome topography, created by the slowly meandering Bushman's River running through it. Amakhala Game Reserve is located in the malaria-free Eastern Cape of South Africa. The Game Reserve offers a wide variety of 3, 4 & 5-star owner-managed experiences. The private game park offers guests accommodation in a selection of 11 luxury establishments made up of restored country houses, safari lodges and tented camps located in different areas of the large game reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amakhala Game Reserve Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing