We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place, lovely location”
Review of Thunzi Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunzi Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Thurzi Lodge was peaceful, relaxing and just what we needed at the end of our trip. Lovely chalet rooms - two bedroom so great for kids! - and very close to some excellent attractions such as the nearby Lion Park and the stunning beach and sand dunes at nearby Seaview Beach. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blairpalese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 289 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

My fiance booked us into Thunzi as part of our World cup tour around South Africa and we were thrilled with it! We were welcomed warmly on arrival with a refreshing drink and then lead down to our delightful chalet. The chalet was perfect for us; clean, decorated by the owners with wonderful artefacts they had gathered on their travels around South Africa. It felt like our little home for the few days we resided there. The bath was fabulous with rose petals and candles...and a glass of wine! We had a lovely balcony (which was not overlooked by anyone) across the bush and surrounding areas. The guest information in the rooms was great, helped us to plan what we wanted to do in the short time we had in PE. The food which was carefully prepared by Chef Betty was eXcellent. We really wanted some home made food by this point on our travels and we were not disappointed. The butternut squash soup was delicious!! The location is secluded and due to the fact there are only a few lodges, it is not over run with people which was even better. Michael was always around to answer questions and even gave us some hints on accessing the stadium for the England match we went to watch! We would love to go back just so we can see more of PE and stay in such a wonderful place. Oh and the Lion reserve a few km up the road is a MUST!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeachesShire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Even before we arrived, the staff at Thunzi couldn't do enough to help plan our trip, including arranging airport transfers and car hire. We did the Addo / Big five package with meals included and it was perfect. The breakfasts were amazing and the evening meals were absolutely spot on for interesting local food for us, but also suitable for the children. We had a picnic delivered to our balcony for lunch on the first day which was just what was needed to recover from the long flight from London. The accommodation and setting were both tranquil and exquisite. Lounging by the pool was the perfect way to unwind and relax to start our holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I was lucky to win a prize for 2 at Thunzi Bush Lodge and the experience I had is just what I needed for some peace and quite. The scenery, the forest, the adventure we had with sandboarding, snorkling, (bash fishing we couldn't do due to our wonderful winds), Spa Treatment and the trail .... just awesome. The service from the moment we got there, the staff, the food and of course the experience at the BOMA is a must for all guests. It was like living in a different world. Thank you guys, we had a wonderful time and you are my nr 1 recommendation if anybody is looking for some peace and quite or just a break from our busy lives.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awesome101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed here for one night and it was fabulous. The private chalets are very secluded and it was very relaxing reading books and watching birds from the private balcony with noone in sight.
There are walks around the grounds which was great fun and again - very private.
We had planned to have dinner in the outdoor boma but due to the weather the staff set up a table for us on the terrace at the main house, with a log fire and blankets to keep us warm. Although the usual chef was not working that night, our meal was very nice.
I would definitely recommend a stay in this lodge as it was an incredibly relaxing and special experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyandLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

My partner & I went up to Thunzi for a romantic weekend where we were warmly welcomed not only by the friendly manager on duty but also by one or two of the long legged locals who sometimes wonder through the windows as one would expect,considering they live 5cm away in the bush and that's where we are!Our meals,inside and out were flawless apart from a few mozzies and every request that i had made several days before from Cape Town was met with eagerness.The friendly cook gave us everything our stomach's desired and the overall service was better than anything i had experienced in the Eastern Cape-We will definitely be going up for our next anniversary-a true gem and awesome African experience!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We stayed for one night at Thunzi on route to our safari and had a very poor experience. The food in the evening was very basic and we left before dessert. On return to our room we unfortunately found several very large spiders had entered the room- obviously a risk in the location- but something that we would have appreciated some warning about. The manager on duty was very helpful polite and welcoming though.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalieedwards6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
5.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.4 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
337 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
292 reviews
2.1 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 231 in Port Elizabeth
424 reviews
2.1 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 231 in Port Elizabeth
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunzi Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunzi Bush Lodge

Address: Maitland Road, Maitland | Maitland, Port Elizabeth 6018, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $88 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunzi Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunzi in isiXhosa means "in the shade," describing a typical lazy afternoon in the forest valley. This tranquil sanctuary of coastal forest can be found 20 minutes West of Port Elizabeth and is nestled at the base of a 44 hectare private valley overlooking a pristine and lush river wetland. Luxury 4* Self-catering Chalets are fully equipped and have their own private boma's nestled under a milkwood/acacia tree in the indigenous forest where family and friends can gather and enjoy a few drinks and braai (barbeque). Added extras for your convenience include various DSTV select, dressing gowns, air-conditioning, tea/coffee amenities, mini chocolates, heating, hair dryer, daily housekeeping service and laundry facilities. There is a free Wi-Fi hotspot at the reception area and cellphone reception throughout the estate. Guests can enjoy bird watching, bass fishing, forest walks, spa treatments as well as beach walks and sand boarding at the Maitland Beach only 3km from Thunzi. Gourmet picnics are on offer Tuesdays to Sundays and you don't have to be an overnight guest to enjoy this - day visitors more than are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Thunzi Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing