We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hideaway”
Review of Thunzi Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunzi Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful hideaway”
Reviewed October 30, 2006

We stayed at Thunzi Bush lodge for two nights, and our only regret was not staying longer.

From the beautiful setting in a valley surrounded by indigenous forest, to the luxurious and private accomodation and the mouthwatering food served on the deck overlooking the valley, all accompanied by an attentive and friendly staff, this was truly an unforgettable experience.

A must is also a night walk in the surrounding forest looking for nocturnal creatures or just gazing up at the stars in the sky.

A walk along the nearby untouched beach and sand dunes, followed by lazing at the stunning swimming pool is also not to be missed.

All in all, a wonderful experience.

Thanks and Good Luck !

  • Liked — the privacy and surrounding nature
  • Disliked — had to carry suitcases to the last cabin on a gravel path
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    60
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
58
170
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2006

The staff, the food, the cabins, the surroundings, the walks are all awesome. Very definately highly reccommend Thunzi for anyone who is wanting to spend some quiet time away. It is close enough to civilisation if you want it, yet far enough away from it if you are not wanting the city life. The service is fantastic & the food is outstanding . Worth every penny spent.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 10, 2006

thunzi is definately a must for people who want to get away from all the buzz,it has the most beautiful indigenous forest that you can take a stroll through,little dams to picnic by,stunning pool and much more..the hospitality is at its best and the friendly staff make you at home!the rooms are superb and most comfortable beds:-)it is a place that i will definately return to.thank you everyone at thunzi for everything!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 13, 2006

We stayed at Thuzi Bush Lodge recently on our holiday through the Garden Route to Cape Town.

It was absolutely fantastic, like a haven in the wild. Whilst the weather was overcast and raining, and therefore didn't allow us the opportunity to enjoy eating al fresco, we really appreciated the beautiful chalets equipped with an indulgent bathroom allowing you to soak in a hot tub with the sound of rain falling outdoors.

Highly recommend you pamper yourself with this luxurious retreat!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa, North West Province
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2006

Thunzi in its current state is one of the best kept secrets of the Port Elizabeth(PE) area.

SETTING
Unique setting off the beaten track, yet accessible via good tar road along the sea and far enough to escape the bustle of the city. Then again close enough to pop into PE for a Romantic seafood dinner. The view from the rooms is stunning, overlooking the coastal forest. Here you find true tranquility, true rest and TOTAL privacy!! its small & cosy yet decidedly well above average. If TV and music and live entertainment is your scene then this is not the place for you. This is a lodge that I will DEFINITELY visit again.The peace and quiet is out of this world!!! (9,5/10)

ACCOMODATION
Thew distance between the rooms meant that there was no disturbance from any other guests and the other units were thus 'out of sight' which added to the feeling of privacy and seclusion. This was good with normal attention to detail. Bathroom facilities good with towel warmers (nice given the cold weather!!) (8/10)

BUSH TRAIL
This was one of the best I have walked as 80% of our walk was under the tree canopy. due to the moistness we must have seen 6 different varieties of mushrooms and toadstools alone. Ample fresh spoor of buck on the trail was evidence that the shy buck are lurking in the thickets.(9/10)

MEALS
The normal English(South African?) breakfasts were served...the difference is that they were FRESHLY prepared...not cooked @5h00 in the morning and kept in warming ovens! the whole wheat toast was absolutely delicious and there again not commercial bread bought at the corner cafe.(8/10)

STAFF
Were very friendly and aptly portayed the image of the "friendly city". Every need and request was catered for. (8/10)

RATES
When the booking was made the 'off season' rate was quoted. Although the facilities are good I am of the Honest opinion that Thunzi would not be worth the 'in season' rates, simply because it offers nothing more 'in season' than 'out of season'. That is my honest feeling given the fact that I have had the privilege of staying any many other game lodges throughout the country

NOTES TO FOREIGNERS
As a proud South African I am saddened by the fact that my fellow citizens "are cashing in on tourists" and to a certain extent ripping off the very people that we need to visit our country on a regular basis. it is important to remain discerning and not always accept the rates offered but negotiate or tell the establishments they are too expensive.
I must add that Thunzi is not one of those establishments (at least for now!?) they offer fair value for money.
on the issue of safety...Thunzi is perfectly safe given its remoteness..

LASTLY
Surely there must be something that I did not like...something that they can improve on??
Dislikes and shortcomings?
I like bathsheets not the small towels on offer.
I like good quality WHITE linen throughout for obvoius reasons. (personal preference)
Wooden balcony had uncomfortable cold wooden benches, no relaxing chairs

In closing. Thunzi offers a unique tranquil secluded and private venue to truly get away from it all. For this type of relaxing retreat, gadgets goodies and gimics are not required if you want to get in touch with yourself. No queues, no noise no distractions of a TV in some corner blurting out replays and banners of 'forthcoming attractions'

Thanks Thunzi for a lovely three days...I will never forget the experience!!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 8, 2006

What a wonderful setting! The scenery of this place is just simply amazing. It's a little peace of heaven cut out of the natural bush. It was very relaxing to wake up in the morning with nature in surround sound! And the Babaans Walk is a must for all who stay at Thunzi. The whole experience was topped off by an amazing staff - Debbie, Zami, and Zoleka and all the rest. Friendly, warm people committed to making it a great experience. The meals were great, and the breakfasts on the balcony overlooking the wetland area, gave us a refreshing start to our day. The dinner under the open sky is also a must!

Thunzi is relaxing in the true sense of the word!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 30, 2006

we booked our first two nights in SA at Thunzi. in the minute we arrived we decided to stay longer.
Tren and the Thunzi team were so friendly and they made our stay the most fantastic one on our whole trip. this place is absoluty relaxing with an amazing scenery, fantastic food- thanks again to ZAMI the chef - and the three rooms are so private and lovely decorated that you never want to leave again. we certainly recommend a stay at this place.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
5.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.4 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
307 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
2.1 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Way Villa - Luxury Accommodation
Island Way Villa - Luxury Accomm...
#5 of 78 in Port Elizabeth
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunzi Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunzi Bush Lodge

Property: Thunzi Bush Lodge
Address: Maitland Road, Maitland | Maitland, Port Elizabeth 6018, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunzi Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunzi in isiXhosa means "in the shade," describing a typical lazy afternoon in the forest valley. This tranquil sanctuary of coastal forest can be found 20 minutes West of Port Elizabeth and is nestled at the base of a 44 hectare private valley overlooking a pristine and lush river wetland. Luxury 4* Self-catering Chalets are fully equipped and have their own private boma's nestled under a milkwood/acacia tree in the indigenous forest where family and friends can gather and enjoy a few drinks and braai (barbeque). Added extras for your convenience include various DSTV select, dressing gowns, air-conditioning, tea/coffee amenities, mini chocolates, heating, hair dryer, daily housekeeping service and laundry facilities. There is a free Wi-Fi hotspot at the reception area and cellphone reception throughout the estate. Guests can enjoy bird watching, bass fishing, forest walks, spa treatments as well as beach walks and sand boarding at the Maitland Beach only 3km from Thunzi. Gourmet picnics are on offer Tuesdays to Sundays and you don't have to be an overnight guest to enjoy this - day visitors more than are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Thunzi Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing