We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”
Review of Thunzi Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunzi Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The night we spent at Tunzi was so relaxing. The bush lodge was very clean, warm, cozy and located in the middle of the trees. The silence with only the sounds of nature was just what was needed. Dinner was excellent, Bessie definitely knows her stuff, and the rest of the staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also a treat. If you are looking for silence and relaxation in nature away from the city, this is certainly the place to be.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Jannet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

What an amazing experience we had at Thunzi Bush Lodge! The weekend before we got engaged we went to Thunzi for a romantic getaway and man, was it romantic. Hiking, mountainbiking and a romantic dinner for two! Breathtaking views. So beautiful and special that we decided to get married at this gorgeous bush lodge.
Booking out the whole lodge and making full use of all the magnificent features and areas that they had to offer. We tried to incorporate all the beautiful areas for our special day.
Having an open air ceremony and our reception in a bedouin tent, just complimented the beautiful surroundings.
The Thunzi staff members were also so very helpful and enthusiastic! No problem to big for them to sort out and always lending a helping hand.
Our Bridal Party had the oppertunity to sleep over the night of the wedding and also shared a delicious breakfast the morning after.
I get goosebumps everytime I see photos of this venue!!!
Tren, William and Team, you guys are amazing!!!! Thank you for making our wedding weekend so PERFECT in all ways!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timann_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We visited Thunzi at the end of our South African tour in 2007 (although this site doesn't let you record anything before 2010). We loved it! So secluded. A lovely swimming pool between only about 4 cabins. Private dinner if you would like. The monkeys were hugely interested in my husband's camera and came right up to the deck to take a closer look - amazing! Would thoroughly recommend as off the beaten track.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alwaysliveinhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed in the Hornbill Chalet for two nights at the start of our tour along the Garden Route to Cape town and would rate it as one of the best places we stayed. The chalet was spacious, very clean and located within wonderful grounds, Being winter, we needed the heating on at night and were provided with an extra heater which made evenings in the chalet very pleasant. There seemed to be four chalets on the site and apart from meeting the other guests at breakfast you got the feeling of being secluded but in a very safe environment. Our kids loved it and we were comfortable for them to walk alone in the grounds. The walk around the lake is lovely and great for keeping kids distracted.

The service was very good and William, the site manager, couldn't have been more helpful. The cooked breakfasts in the morning were wonderful.

We were lent a sand board and had a great time boarding down the huge sand dunes just 5 minutes drive down the road. We'd highly recommend trying it out - lots of fun.If you plan to do it, get some table wax to make the board glide easier (we were given some by some people we met on the dunes) .

The lodge is only 30 minutes drive from Port Elizabeth and much nicer than staying around the city which we felt had little to offer beyond the beaches

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a peak at the other cottages and thought Hornbill was the nicest. Athough Self catering you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamoftravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

you cant help but not to relax when you are there. if you are needing "time out" this is the place to go. the food is out of this world.

Room Tip: all the rooms have the most breath taking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy_jamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Wow wow wow. It was my birthday weekend and what a wonderful way to enjoy it. Mark and I truely enjoyed our stay. Wnderful welcome from william, gorgeous room (Narina) with EVERYTHING ( and Chess and Checkers games :-Owe went for an afternoon mini hike on the path surrounding the property and had a lovely and romantic dinner,great 3 course meal.wow. Breakfast was wow. Thank u william for everything.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We spent one night at Thunzi Bush Lodge. What a disappointment on the last day of our honeymoon. The cabin was OK - but we wouldn't give it a four star rating. We were "treated" to the "private boma dinner". The setting wasn't too bad, but unfortunately we cannot say the same about the food. It was terrible & the presentation even worse. We didn't stay to "enjoy" the "hearty South African breakfast". No wonder we were the only guests there!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bnortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

We have recently employed a new manager to correct previous issues that we have been experiencing in the past two months. He has extensive experience in the hotel/lodge industry and we have no doubt that Thunzi Bush Lodge will offer superb service and four star accommodation as usual.
We have hired a well known chef to re-design our menu and all cooks/kitchen staff have gone on training and refresher courses in order to get our food quality back up to international standards.
We thank all guests for reviews published and are happy to correct any faults in a timeously & professional manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
21.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
20.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
503 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 232 in Port Elizabeth
428 reviews
17.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 232 in Port Elizabeth
556 reviews
65.0 mi away
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
#1 of 81 in Port Elizabeth
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunzi Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunzi Bush Lodge

Address: Maitland Road, Maitland | Maitland, Port Elizabeth 6018, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $84 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunzi Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunzi in isiXhosa means "in the shade," describing a typical lazy afternoon in the forest valley. This tranquil sanctuary of coastal forest can be found 20 minutes West of Port Elizabeth and is nestled at the base of a 44 hectare private valley overlooking a pristine and lush river wetland. Luxury 4* Self-catering Chalets are fully equipped and have their own private boma's nestled under a milkwood/acacia tree in the indigenous forest where family and friends can gather and enjoy a few drinks and braai (barbeque). Added extras for your convenience include various DSTV select, dressing gowns, air-conditioning, tea/coffee amenities, mini chocolates, heating, hair dryer, daily housekeeping service and laundry facilities. There is a free Wi-Fi hotspot at the reception area and cellphone reception throughout the estate. Guests can enjoy bird watching, bass fishing, forest walks, spa treatments as well as beach walks and sand boarding at the Maitland Beach only 3km from Thunzi. Gourmet picnics are on offer Tuesdays to Sundays and you don't have to be an overnight guest to enjoy this - day visitors more than are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Thunzi Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing