We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel overlooking beach”
Review of Kelway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelway Hotel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Reviewed February 17, 2010

This was a lovely hotel beside the sea. We had a room with a balcony and sea view. We were in a 'superior' room, very clean and a good sized room. Had all the usual, AC, safe etc. Ate in the restuarant, the food was very good but the service was slow and poor the one night we were there, they seemed to be short staffed. Was a bit better at breakfast the following morning. Was very disappointed with Port Elizabeth, we walked into town but was obviously a very poor town, lots of beautiful building but in a very bad state. Did not find one coffee shop or taxi in the town centre!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Kelway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 238 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

Good value for money hotel with restaurant and bars. Food was good and hotel was close to beachfront and airport. We only stayed in PE as we had an early flight up to Kruger. The hotel was excellent value with very friendly and helpful staff. On advice, we didn't venture out of the hotel after dark. Don't think we would go back to PE.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

No here is a discovery! I was skeptical at first, given that it was my first time to the Kelway Hotel, and when I arrived and learned that the did not have the room that I was hoping for, I was thinking "oh dear".

However, the room I got was beautiful, cozy, hospital clean, and so comfortable. And, I did get an ocean view room in the end (pity though that the view also includes planes taking off and landing at times).

Nonetheless, I had one of my most enjoyable stays ever at the Kelway! Despite this being a business trip, I was able to unwind, relax and use that gained energy to work.

There is a very cozy athmosphere generlly and the staff is really friendly. One of the best features of the hotel was the terrace of the restaurant, which gave an amazing view onto the ocean and parts of the city. One downside was the lack of Internet access in the hotel rooms, but then again, the absence of Wifi bombardment usually part of hotels nowadays allowed me to sleep like a baby.

Overall, this really was a very positive surprise and I will definately book this hotel the next time I am in P.E.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 062211d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

A friend of ours booked this hotel over the phone for a good discount the day before. Rooms were gorgeous with lots of home comforts. The hotel has a small pool and an excellent resaurant which had a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 22, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I loved the Kelway. From the second we arrived we were warmly welcomed and it was a great start to our South African experience. All the staff were lovely, but particularly look out for SISA, behind the bar.
Great location, just a few hundred yards from the beach. It has a nice 'colonial' feel to the building, lovely restaurant/bar with seaviews. Comfortable nicely decorated good size room with balcony and view.
OK, if you want to be picky the pool is rather small (though very pleasant, with water feature and rockery) but all in all it was great value for money and I would definitely return.
Oh, and if you have kids ask reception for a FREE PASS to the nearby aquarium.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Very close and easy to get to from Port Elizabeth Airport. A nice clean hotel with no lift but helpful staff and free parking. Good bed and great breakfast, Very helpful- sea view is from the side and you can see more of the port that you would like not that pretty but still a one night stop over it was ideal

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonandGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.2 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.0 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelway Hotel

Address: Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $46 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned in Port Elizabeth, South Africa for business & leisure travelers. Situated just a few minutes from the airport, and within walking distance to popular tourist attractions and swimming beaches. This multi graded 3 & 4 star timber structured hotel was built in 2004 & offers 61 ensuite rooms, conference facilities, secure parking & restaurant where breakfast, lunch or dinner can be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kelway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelway Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing