We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad points at the Kelway”
Review of Kelway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kelway Hotel
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good and bad points at the Kelway”
Reviewed November 29, 2008

To us, this was just an overnight stop at the end of the garden route before we went on our safari. We didn’t think much of Port Elizabeth itself, but the hotel wasn't bad.

True, the room and bathroom were a little dated, but the hotel restaurant we found to be very good and it has a fantastic terrace area overlooking the sea. On our first morning there I saw a group of about 6 dolphins playing in the sea from the hotel terrace, which I could see with my naked eye! Maybe that sold it to me(!)

Other good points is that it is just a few minutes walk from an amazing long sandy beach. Wasn't the best weather for us, but I'm sure it'd be great when it's hot. It's not far to walk to more restaurants and shops etc further along the seafront.

One bad point was the noise of the aeroplanes coming overhead in the middle of the night, as it's so close to the airport and the hotel doesn't seem to have any sound-proofing at all. Music from the club down the road also woke us up one night which was really annoying.

I think if you find yourself needing to stay in Port Elizabeth for a day or two, you could do much worse than staying in the Kelway.

  • Liked — Restaurant and sea views
  • Disliked — Noise from aeroplanes and nightclub waking us up!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    98
    67
    17
    6
See reviews for
30
103
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Stayed at the Kelway for one night before an early flight from PE airport. What can I say, the hotel was ok but we weren't really there long enough to experience it properly. Our room was adequate though slightly tired. Stragely there was only one of everything on the hospitality tray so it was one cup of tea between two. The Bathroom was particularly tired and looked as though someone had tried to give it a makeover but had made it worse. The sealant was pealing away from the bath so goodness knows who we were flooding out below when we took a shower. We had to leave before breakfast and it wasn't possible to get anything to take with us so I've no idea what the food was like. On the plus side, it's very convenient for the airport, we were there within about 5 minutes.

Possibly the most boringly average hotel I've stayed at and definitely the low point of a great trip round SA.

  • Liked — Close to airport
  • Disliked — Slightly tired feel.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Elizabeth hotels

Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

As always The Kelway is execllent.. the service, food and ambience.. My colleagues loved it and I always stay there when on business.. Well done Guys

  • Liked — Yje decor and views
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Reyhana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We were luckily only here for our first two nights. Why does Saga lower its standards and choose this hotel? It is situated in a boring, uninteresting, tired area of Port Elizabeth, and even the seashore here is hardly worth a visit. The Boardwalk centre is tacky, and please visit the Aquarium in Cape Town rather than the Oceanarium here. The public areas of the hotel are quite good, the food is okay, and the staff are friendly enough, but our small bedroom was awful. For example, previous guests had stuffed a towel between the ceiling and the wall in one place, presumably in an attempt to keep the weather out. It was still there on our arrival.The shower room (no bath) and toilet were a disgrace; tiny, but also dirty with cracked tiles and mould in places.OK, my mood wasn't helped by the fact that my case was broken into at the Airport (I wasn't the only one affected), but the hotel and its situation (virtually no garden and a tiny pool) were a big disappointment for the start of our tour of the Garden route. We could have been in a dreary location in the U.K. At least the other four hotels greatly improved after our stay here, but we felt sorry for the people travelling West - East and ending up at this one.
Adoo Elephant Park is an absolute delight, however!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosnibor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Attractive wooden fronted hotel with views of the sea near to PE's restaurant and entertainment complexes. Rooms comfortable and small but nicely secluded pool, extensive breakfast and free internet

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank seasone_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

Stayed in The Kelway Hotel in Port Elizabeth for two nights in Sept 2007, Rooms were lovely, Beds were really comfortable, Seems to be a quiet area except on a Friday night when the boy riders like to take their cars for a spin. Didnt disturb me but it did for others. Also, dont do your washing tru the hotel, it work out very expensive compared to what it can be done for in the town. Overall it was a lovely hotel and staff were excellent.

  • Liked — The Beds - very comfie
  • Disliked — The Drycleaning service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sceniclands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

I have stayed in Port Elizabeth many many times on business. This time was no different except someone different booked my trip for me. I was very pleasantly surprised at this hotel. Check in was quick and efficient, hotel staff were friendly, service was tip top. The rooms are well kitted out and very comfy. I left early the next morning and the staff had even packed me a lunch pack for the road!
AWESOME! This hotel comes highly recommended!

  • Liked — The rooms were VERY comfortable
  • Disliked — There is no lift
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IanFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.2 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelway Hotel

Property: Kelway Hotel
Address: Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned in Port Elizabeth, South Africa for business & leisure travelers. Situated just a few minutes from the airport, and within walking distance to popular tourist attractions and swimming beaches. This multi graded 3 & 4 star timber structured hotel was built in 2004 & offers 61 ensuite rooms, conference facilities, secure parking & restaurant where breakfast, lunch or dinner can be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kelway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelway Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing