We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Kelway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelway Hotel
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel looks nice from the outside perched on hill overlooking the sea. When you get in the hotel it does not live up to expectations. Having said that it is comfortable if not a bit basic. The room I had towards the back of the hotel was noisy with a path outside and people walking past my window. There was also a road just at the back of the hotel that had traffic that woke me up early. All in all it was okay for one night.

Room Tip: Front of hotel not the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    98
    67
    17
    6
See reviews for
30
103
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The photo's on the website made this hotel seem absolutely stunning... What a disappointment arriving at the hotel to find it looked nothing like the pictures! The furniture was broken, the rooms stank of smoke, our booking was incorrect, wifi didn't work... The entire hotel needs some carpet cleaner! Won't ever stay there again

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tarryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night - the room was smart and comfortable and had a balcony. There is a bar and restaurant and the fact the hotel is built of wooden logs gives it a distinctive and charming feel. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danco28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has very friendly staff, stayed there for 1 evening only, but wonderful views over the bay, especially from the bar, clean and excellent value for money. Close to walk to the beach and in a safe area. Would definitely recommend for stop overs in PE.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank _Corne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Three nights a the Kalway PE

After some searching for alternative accommodation for my business trips in PE, I gave the Kalway a chance, and I'm glad I did.

Check in was efficient and friendly
Stayed in room 30 with a balcony, better value overall that those main strewn hotel groups down the road. Lovely view of the sea and harbor.

Value for money 10 out of 5 stars. You can't find a 4star hotel at close to these rates in PE.

Criticism: breakfast service needs addressing, the ladies stand in groups discussing major issues and not attending to the guests coffee and plates very well. Served myself coffee every morning with other guests while the servers chatted at the counter. Need some management intervention in the breakfast room.

Rooms while not new, are top end, clean and more than functional. Bathrooms are 5 star with a shower built for more than two ...

Check out was efficient well done.

Moving onto another hotel tonight as they are full and my trip was extended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Found this Hotel on the internet and used it for a business trip layover for 2 nights. What a lovely surprise. The arrival experience was very good with a warm welcome and efficient check in. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and everything was in working order. The views are very pretty overlooking the Bay. Breakfast is a a good spread and the service is very good as well. Overall I would recommend this Hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Online booking hassle free. They had our rooms ready by the time we arrived. Room BIG and clean with a hugeness. Very pleasant stay. Staff friendly and helpful. Reasonable typical South African breakfast. Good coffee. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling through PE.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.2 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelway Hotel

Property: Kelway Hotel
Address: Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned in Port Elizabeth, South Africa for business & leisure travelers. Situated just a few minutes from the airport, and within walking distance to popular tourist attractions and swimming beaches. This multi graded 3 & 4 star timber structured hotel was built in 2004 & offers 61 ensuite rooms, conference facilities, secure parking & restaurant where breakfast, lunch or dinner can be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kelway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelway Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing