We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor experience”
Review of Kelway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kelway Hotel
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I didn't like this hotel for the following reasons:

1. My room was very dark as it looked out onto a high, sheer wall just feet away.

2. When I escaped the depressing atmosphere to sit on the balcony outside the restaurant, staff would not deliver my suitcase to my room as I was not there.

3. The bar area was full of smokers.

4. Breakfast started much later than it should have done, with the result that we had a rather inadequate meal.

Perhaps I just had a particularly bad experience, but I definitely would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Worldtravellerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 265 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

I went at the Kelway Hotel with my brother before the World Cup in 2010 (June). We took the Ostrich Steak at the restaurant hotel and it was good. Hotel near the ocean and the beach. Nothing much to say about this place, it's "OK" for a short stay just before leaving for a flight at the Port Elizabeth Airport.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Pou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Good hotel really handy for Summer Strand. Menu in the restaurant is good with excellent nice breakfast. Lots of facilities and very nice rooms. The only problem is P.E. Its not a pretty city albeit its easy to get around. The casino complex which is nearby has lots of nice restaurants and we eat at Squires which did a lovely Kudo for £11. Drinks were reasonably priced everywhere about £1.50 a bottle of Castle. The problem was we spoke to a Captain in the Sout African police who warned us about wearing valuables on the main strip. As a cop myself I did concern me so we didnt stay out long which may have hampered the options. Still two days in the hotel were fine but not enough to do especially for young people. Finally, at £93 a night I thought it was £20 overpriced.

Room Tip: 2 hours along the garden route is Storms River stop there the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hodgeyWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed for one night in this modern hotel close to the shore. We liked our room: it was big and had its own balcony, which was good for a cigar and a glass of wine. The restaurant is a little bit too big and was lacking atmosphere. The food was good though. The reception was just average. Overall a good place for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Perfectly acceptable hotel conveniently placed for the beach but the rooms are rather variable in quality. We stayed on our way to and from The Addo and our first room was no more than ok whilst the second was rather nice. Beware however of staying when there is a function on as you won't get any sleep until it finishes!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed at the Kelway for one night while on the way to Knysna. The hotel does face the ocean. The rooms are just ok, nothing special. There is no lift to the 2nd floor rooms, so it is a stair climb. The restaurant overlooks the bay and is very nice. But it gets very breezy at times. The hotel is within walking distance of the casino and shopping complex. I would not utilize the hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The Kelway offers superb accommodation - try getting the honeymoon room....you won't believe it !!
All rooms spotlessly clean, and well fitted out ...TV even worked here !!
The food for dinner and breakfast was very good and even the wine wasn't too expensive. All the staff were very helpful...and thankfully they helped with luggage up to 2nd floor as no lift !!
Extensive refurbishment being carried out to deck area - which when finished will be fabulous -
As we were advised not to go out alone in evening in Port Elizabeth, it was nice to find that hotel was comfortable enough to settle down for the evening, so that we did not feel we had missed anything by staying in. Especially when we had such a super view of seashore around harbour -

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.2 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
468 reviews
2.2 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#23 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
64 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelway Hotel

Address: Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $70 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned in Port Elizabeth, South Africa for business & leisure travelers. Situated just a few minutes from the airport, and within walking distance to popular tourist attractions and swimming beaches. This multi graded 3 & 4 star timber structured hotel was built in 2004 & offers 61 ensuite rooms, conference facilities, secure parking & restaurant where breakfast, lunch or dinner can be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kelway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelway Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing