We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy Stanley Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Med Mediterranean Taverna - CLOSED

Le Med Mediterranean Taverna
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: closed down permanently 27 June 2016
Bracknell
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Busy Stanley Street”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stanley Street seems to have been rejuvenated and is now a lively spot with new restaurants and bars. As its name suggests Le Med offers a menu covering mainly Italian and Greek style food. On the friday night we were there as guests of local friends the restaurant was full and very lively. Nevertheless the service was very good and we did not have to wait too long for our drinks and food to arrive. I had the lamb knuckle and contrary to another recent review was very pleased with the tenderness and taste of the lamb and the excellent tomato based sauce and generous quantity of orzo pasta.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    36
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
239 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and superb service.”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The ambience outdoors was great. Our waiter a young fellow was amazing .The area is very vibe . My Lamb knuckles were disappointing - taste wise and hardly any orzo in dish and my missus 's Mousaka very average. Veggies arrived a bit late after main course. They were good . We were a party of 12 and 8 were very happy . Value for money was good

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great new place”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Le med was one of the few reatuarant open on boxing day, it wasnt my first choice but I am really glad we went.

A family run business with something different in the menu, not the same old steaks and pasta....

Great Moroccan flavours, the lamb burger was excellent as welk as the chicken livers.

Would definatley return some time soon.

Helpful?
Thank keymasterpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Lunch was fantastic, service super friendly, super home cooked family feeling. I can say super impressed. Well worth trying

Helpful?
Thank BranGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Le Med is one of many restaurants in the vibey Stanley Street which generally has a great European atmosphere. I arrived without a reservation for lunch and was welcomed and accommodated without a hassle despite the place being busy. Food and service met my expectations. Owners also very attentive and friendly. Enjoyable experience. Would love to return for evening dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adelenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Med Mediterranean Taverna also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing