We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for 1 night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windermere by Mantis
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2006

What a pity that the Windermere is in PE. The place is excellent, stylish, enormous rooms and even bigger bathrooms, friendly and helpful hostess, but the location is not great.
Furhtermore, the planes and boats leaving or entering the harbour make a lot of noise.
In hte neigbourhood is an american-style casino+shops+ restaurants complex, but not authentic in any way.
But if you must fly the next day the Windermere is defintely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 126 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2005

One of our Favourite Hotels on our travels to South Africa.

Location. - Only 5/10 mins from PE Airport and a good starting/ finishing point if your doing the Garden route. Its in a nice part of PE, close to the beach (Safe for anyone who might be concerned about that). Theres not alot to do here though, so you'll probably wouldn't want to stay here for more than a night or 2.

Accomodation. Fantastic modern, large, very stylish. A truely great small boutique hotel.

Hospitality. Great staff, very friendly and helpful.

If only all hotels were this good.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2005

We stayed here the fist night of our honeymoon as a stopover (to re-charge and relax) before going on to safari. Upon arrival, the place doesnt look much. It is set off of the main seafront road and set in amongst a residential area. This is what makes it even more bizarre and unique. One minute you are in the middle of flats/houses, (a very typical South African middle class housing area).....and then you stumble across The Windermere. It is probably one of the most unique hotels I have ever stayed in. From the minute we stepped in through the door, we were looked after. This may have been because it was winter time (despite the weather being perfectly sunny and warm) and it seemed as though we were the only couple there. The room was absolutly massive (the biggest room I have ever stayed in). There were 3 large sofas, all the 5 star little luxuries you could think of and a gorgeous little terrace/balcony (from which you can just see the sea). The bathrooms werent big, but had a gorgeous double shower with the whole range of moulton brown products to choose from. The hotel has a real homely feel about it, there is a small bar area but in the evening we choose to have our drinks in the 'living' area by the fire. Nothing was too much trouble and we were ordered to sit and our snacks and drinks were bought to us along with the scattered rose petals on the floor all around us to add to the already romantic scene.
The location is good (convenience wise) - literally 2 mins from the seafront and then into the centre of the small town where there is quite a good choice of local restaurants/bars. I would imagine in the summer the place would be thriving but it certainly wasnt in Winter. Still, we liked the feel of the place. It was perfect for its purpose, and we found ourselves wanting to stay longer as everything was so lovely it felt awful to leave after just one night. Breakfast was made to order and cooked to perfection and the staff were all very friendly and constantly helped in anyway they could. I would certainly recommend this hotel as a stopover (we flew in from J'Berg) as it has a perfect location to either start your drive along the garden route or head of to the Eastern Cape where there are a couple of good safaris (within an hour or so's drive).

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Mand-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alessandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank johnsilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank repiontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
Thank JoseFonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
339 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere by Mantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere by Mantis

Address: 35 Humewood Rd | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $124 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windermere by Mantis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windermere by Mantis is a luxury boutique hotel, conveniently situated in the popular beachfront suburb of Humewood, Port Elizabeth. Offering guests an authentic, year round beach holiday feel, we invite you to kick off your shoes and relax in easy-living comfort. At The Windermere, we've taken the boutique hotel experience back to basics, where our focus is on the well-being of our guests. Our warm welcomes are genuine, our smiles are sincere, and our guests are made to feel immediately at home. Of course, you can still look forward to all the classic comforts and amenities expected of an upmarket establishment, along with the exceptional service that has become synonymous with the Mantis Group. Enjoy complimentary afternoon refreshments at the poolside, unwind on your private terrace, or relax in the courtyard with undercover patio - the heart of our hotel. Share a drink at the bar with like-minded guests, or take a walk to the beach, which is just a stone's throw away. To add to the homely atmosphere, familiar home cooked meals are available to order off our light meals menu. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, The Windermere by Mantis is the ideal base for visitors to Port Elizabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your The Windermere by Mantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing