We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windermere by Mantis
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2008

The Windermere is not an easy place to find, but once you do, it's well worth the grief. The hotel consists of 8 rooms, and from the outside looks nothing like a hotel - more like a private house, and the sign advertising its presence is like the hotel itself - discreet, elegant and tasteful.

As we pulled up outside, the concierge leapt out to carry our bags and remove the car to their underground parking facility at the rear of the building. We understand that the whole block was some sort of warehousing facility, which the owners have separated out and made into 8 separate units, all linked by a central grassed area.

We were welcomed by the guest representative, and guided through a succession of huge, perfectly proportioned and minimalistic reception rooms, filled with beautiful pieces of furniture and ornaments. Some of these opened up directly into the grassed area, giving the impression of continuous space.

Our room was massive - high ceilinged and airy, with our own small courtyard outside, not overlooked by anyone. The bathroom adjacent was also enormous - a claw footed bath in the centre, and a shower which would easily accommodate 6 people at the same time.

We ate at 'Azzurro' - a bistro bar on the waterfront, an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel had telephoned ahead and reserved a table, and we were treated like royalty.

Next morning, the select few staying were treated to an excellent cooked breakfast - my husband said the scrambled eggs were amongst the best he had ever eaten - and signed the visitors book before departure. Previous guests included HRH The Earl and Countess of Wessex.

The hotel is an oasis in a very busy port and seaside town, and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 127 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2008

Like other travellers we only booked in for one night at this hotel; but would have preferred more time here. The open spaces are very stylish, and the suites the largest we have seen for some time (we had 3 sofas in our room - 301). Molton Brown toiletries are a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LondonKiwiflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Spent one night at the Windermere in Port Elizabeth on our way from the Garden Route to Rippon's Safari Lodge.
The hotel is fabulous. On arrival it doesn't look lioke your average hotel. As soon as our car came to a stop outside we were greeted by staff who came outside to meet us. As you enter the hotel complex you enter an oasis of calm. The courtyaard and communal areas are beautiful and our room (303) was amazing.
The facilities in our room were second to none - huge room and luxurious bathroom. We also enjoyed a seaview from our outside terrace.
The beaches are literally seconds away, and restaurants are within easy walking distance.
Definitely worth considering if you find yourself in Port Elizabeth

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Clairey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

While Port Elizabeth is not a "must see" while in SA, we stayed here for one night before driving the Garden Route. The room was ENORMOUS and stylishly decorated with two full seating areas, a large king size bed, plush carpet and a cute tiny balcony overlooking the hotel's adorable courtyard. The breakfast was wonderful as were the staff! The whole place is impeccably decorated. A great hotel overall.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April_in_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

I think that the hotel is very pretty and furnitures are chosen with good sense of style but I felt that there was a little bit cold athmosphere. But anyway, I can recommend this hotel for 1-2 night stay because it's situated in good place near by the airport and Boardwalk casino area. I don't think that there's plenty of things to do in PE, so that's the reason why I recommend this hotel for 1 night.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jossu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

What a pity that the Windermere is in PE. The place is excellent, stylish, enormous rooms and even bigger bathrooms, friendly and helpful hostess, but the location is not great.
Furhtermore, the planes and boats leaving or entering the harbour make a lot of noise.
In hte neigbourhood is an american-style casino+shops+ restaurants complex, but not authentic in any way.
But if you must fly the next day the Windermere is defintely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2005

One of our Favourite Hotels on our travels to South Africa.

Location. - Only 5/10 mins from PE Airport and a good starting/ finishing point if your doing the Garden route. Its in a nice part of PE, close to the beach (Safe for anyone who might be concerned about that). Theres not alot to do here though, so you'll probably wouldn't want to stay here for more than a night or 2.

Accomodation. Fantastic modern, large, very stylish. A truely great small boutique hotel.

Hospitality. Great staff, very friendly and helpful.

If only all hotels were this good.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
509 reviews
1.8 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
3.7 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
308 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere by Mantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere by Mantis

Address: 35 Humewood Rd | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $111 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windermere by Mantis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windermere by Mantis is a luxury boutique hotel, conveniently situated in the popular beachfront suburb of Humewood, Port Elizabeth. Offering guests an authentic, year round beach holiday feel, we invite you to kick off your shoes and relax in easy-living comfort. At The Windermere, we've taken the boutique hotel experience back to basics, where our focus is on the well-being of our guests. Our warm welcomes are genuine, our smiles are sincere, and our guests are made to feel immediately at home. Of course, you can still look forward to all the classic comforts and amenities expected of an upmarket establishment, along with the exceptional service that has become synonymous with the Mantis Group. Enjoy complimentary afternoon refreshments at the poolside, unwind on your private terrace, or relax in the courtyard with undercover patio - the heart of our hotel. Share a drink at the bar with like-minded guests, or take a walk to the beach, which is just a stone's throw away. To add to the homely atmosphere, familiar home cooked meals are available to order off our light meals menu. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, The Windermere by Mantis is the ideal base for visitors to Port Elizabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Windermere by Mantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing