We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Windermere by Mantis
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a boutique hotel in the suburbs of PE and a short 10 minute drive to the airport. It’s a good choice if you have an early morning flight out as we did. They don’t have a restaurant but there’s a small shopping center two blocks away with a few restaurants and a gas station.

This hotel has zero curb appeal (the picture on their website is very misleading) and we were a little concerned but once we stepped through the front door it was wonderful. There is an inner courtyard with lovely landscaping and a pool and they have a garage so you don’t need to leave your car on the street.

We had to leave for the airport before breakfast time and when the staff realized this they offered to bring us tea and toast at 6am.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EH10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    45
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
63
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent a great weekend at The Windermere. Great location , well appointed large rooms , friendly and attentive staff and wonderful breakfasts. It may have been a cold wet weekend in Port Elizabeth but the service and my experience was most certainly warm . I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
126 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent one night at the Windermere Hotel and it was more than we had hoped for. We were leaving Port Elizabeth early the following morning so the hotel was in a perfect location being only a 10min drive to the airport. It was also located quite close to a number of restaurants. Whilst the restaurants were within walking distance, the reception staff suggested it would be safer if we drove so although the area looked safe we took her advice and drove to the restaurants.

The room itself was fantastic and very large! It had a huge bathroom (with a heated floor) and a separate lounge area. The cleaning of the room was excellent (except for a minor stain on the lounge). There was a secure garage to park our car (a real bonus).

The service was also great. We were served tea and biscuits in our room on arrival. Overall this was a fantastic hotel and we were disappointed we only had one night there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarggyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
224 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

On our way to our safari we stopped in Port Elizabeth for one night. We had a reservation in the Windermere. The welcoming of the staff was short and we got our room key and that was it. The room, well I call it appartment, was huge. A big living room, a big bedroom and a big bathroom. Very clean and nicely decorated. We had an amazing sleep. The next day we had breakfast, as it was included in our price. We could choose our meal from a menu. the food was very good. The staff friendly and helpful. Parking is at the property they have a small garage, but you always have to ask to open or close the garage door. The hotel is situated in side street next to the main street. It seemed save, but the owner said, she wouldn`t walk around in the night, so we didn`t.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin2010187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were lucky enough to buy a voucher for a one-night stay for two on a charity auction (hospice) and spent a few hours in the divine comfort and warmth of this gem of a boutique hotel. I say a 'few' hours because we were in Port Elizabeth on business, working long hours, so our treat at the Windermere wasn't as long as we'd hoped (basically bed and breakfast). We didn't get to truly enjoy where it is situated (rather incongruously among blocks of flats but with a glimpse of the sea one block away), so close to the beach. We'll be back, I'm sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mushilele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Windermere for one night at the start of our garden route journey after flying from Kruger. Rooms are fantastic, very big and clean. The staff were excellent, very helpful and breakfast the next morning was really good quality. Would recommend when staying in Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2penniesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed here for husbands iron man. Our car broke down on the way, ensuring we would not at all be in time for dinner. The girls waited up for us and served us a late dinner upon a warm welcome and arrival. Excellent service and staff. Great interior overall.

Room Tip: swimming pool is small but well protected for sun baking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.9 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere by Mantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere by Mantis

Property: The Windermere by Mantis
Address: 35 Humewood Rd | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windermere by Mantis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windermere by Mantis is a luxury boutique hotel, conveniently situated in the popular beachfront suburb of Humewood, Port Elizabeth. Offering guests an authentic, year round beach holiday feel, we invite you to kick off your shoes and relax in easy-living comfort. At The Windermere, we've taken the boutique hotel experience back to basics, where our focus is on the well-being of our guests. Our warm welcomes are genuine, our smiles are sincere, and our guests are made to feel immediately at home. Of course, you can still look forward to all the classic comforts and amenities expected of an upmarket establishment, along with the exceptional service that has become synonymous with the Mantis Group. Enjoy complimentary afternoon refreshments at the poolside, unwind on your private terrace, or relax in the courtyard with undercover patio - the heart of our hotel. Share a drink at the bar with like-minded guests, or take a walk to the beach, which is just a stone's throw away. To add to the homely atmosphere, familiar home cooked meals are available to order off our light meals menu. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, The Windermere by Mantis is the ideal base for visitors to Port Elizabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Windermere by Mantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing