We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Paxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paxton Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This hotel was a breath of fresh air after the last few we had along the southern coast of SA. The hotel sits on a small hill overlooking the port, which is its only fault. The rooms are beautiful, as is the bar and restaurant area which overlook a wonderful pool area, which we took full advantage of. The staff were amazingly helpful, all of them - and I was impressed to see a hand written mission statement in the entrance to the restaurant. The hotel even gives you free internet - what more could you ask for!
Helen.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlbulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 353 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night after safari and our flight back to the UK.

The room was spacious and clean, overlooking the harbour.

Location was ok, not right on the each but an easy drive.

Can get a voucher from reception to use Virgin Active gym next door.

Breakfast was good with a large selection. No restaurant on site but 10 min drive to Boardwalk with selection of restaurants.

Downside was the nightclub next door and busy road meaning can not leave window open at night.

Ok as a 1 night stay.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank K1000M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed at the Paxton for 4 nights in February. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious - much better than equivalent hotels in the UK. The service was good as was breakfast. The hotel is in a good location - close to beaches, the Broadwalk shopping centre and oceanarium. Overall, we thought that the hotel was great value and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deejin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

The Paxton was an overnight stop on the Kuoini 'Best of Africa' Tour. The room was large and clean with a good bathroom. The buffet breakfast was excellent.

We went down to The Boardwalk and had dinner at 34 Degrees South. Excellent food and wine.

This was a comfortable hotel for a one night stop - nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

We stayed at the Paxton for one night before heading off to a wedding at a game reserve. Modern, clean rooms. Pleasant staff. Nice, small pool. Good breakfast.

It's about a 1 mile walk to the beach. The hotel fronts the busy part of the port, so that's not great; but otherwise it's a perfectly nice, safe, clean hotel to spend a night.

Stayed: December 2006
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Actually a tad above average.
Large room, some with balcony, coffee facilities, no fridge.
Breakfast, but otherwise only room service food.
Some restaurants an easy 200m walk away.
Just past main beach with a view of harbour and oil terminals.

A good solid pleasant hotel really.

For preference I would probably choose Pine Lodge, Cape recife (might be pricy), or accommodation at Willow a bit further round. Both closer to the airport and have beach etc (some with pools) with vastly superior location.

Note:
90 min should be plenty of time for car dropoff to fly out of airport. We were checked in and through controls within 20 mins from putting on handbrake for the last time!

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank OzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
19113
Reviewed November 14, 2005

We stayed in the hotel on the 1st of November 2005 and had a grat stay. The rooms were very comfortable and large, the staff were very polite and there knowledge of the area was great. The location of the hotel to the beach area and restaurants was great too. As a travel agent this hotel I would recommend and would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#14 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paxton Hotel

Address: Carnarvon Place & Beach Road | Humerail, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $55 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paxton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paxton Hotel is situated in Port Elizabeth, affectionately known as the 'Friendly City' of South Africa.The hotel overlooks the harbour offering magnificent views ofAlgoa Bay.This beachfront hotel offers luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller and has very proudly won the AA Travel Awards for the 'Best Commercial Hotel' in South Africa, for four consecutive years. The Hotel is conveniently situated close to the airport, restaurants, gym, The Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex and many beautiful beaches.We offer special packages for families, younger generations and online specials as well as value for money deals on weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Paxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paxton Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing