We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the City Lodge”
Review of Paxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paxton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

As a business hotel, it is perfect an certainly better than the City Lodge. Clean, neat and comfortable. As a bonus, located alongside the Virgin Active. A great view of the sun rising across the harbour

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 381 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stay at The Paxton when visiting PE on business and I've always had a very positive experience. The staff are great and always willing to help. It's good that you can order food from local restaurants, that deliver and charge your meal to your room. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navisha2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Paxton hotel continues to maintain a high standard of accommodation with clean and well appointed rooms, excellent staff service and will always be my hotel of choice when I work in Port Elizabeth and Ngqura. The rooms are quiet and the shower is separate from the bath which I view as a safety factor.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the elevator and upper landings. If possible take a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Paxton Hotel situates far from the board walk - anyway not in walking distance. We went out for a short walk nearby and there was nothing to see. The room is very modern, new, clean, spacious and comfortable. Bathtub and shower room are separate. Free wifi at the lobby. Service is great.

Port Captain House Restaurant is just 5 minutes (or less) away on foot. We had our best dinner in SA there - one glass of wine, one fresh juice, 2 appetizers and 3 entrees because we want to try different food (seafood platter, lamb shank and a steak) cost us only USD51 including all taxes and tips. The steak is very good and the size of all the dish is huge. The service from our waitress is excellent. Highly recommended both the hotel and this restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed over at this hotel for two night and the friendliness of all the staff on duty really made my stay a pleasant one.

They were always ready to serve us in the best way that they could. Lan did a great job of welcoming us on arrival. Wesley would always do his best to accommodate out needs in the best possible way.

The decor is modern but the bathrooms can seem to be a little small at times. Was a little disappointed to not see shower gel as regulars in the bathroom.

All in all, it really is a great place to stay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
Thank Loyiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our tour of South Africa with Thompson's Africa. We stayed in Room 0103 on the bottom floor overlooking a car park at the back of the hotel, so no views of the coast whatsoever. It was a large comfortable bedroom with small but adequate bathroom. The hospitality tray had limited provisions. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was no evening dining provision so we had to out for dinner. Breakfast was good, though no sugar free preserves for diabetics.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view high up and facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaChevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a night. Room is clean and nicely renovated. Toilet is small and stad-up shower place is too small.Front desk and restaurnt staff are very friendly. Breakfast is good. Loved their waffles :)
I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindycyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
490 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
206 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
527 reviews
1.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paxton Hotel

Address: Carnarvon Place & Beach Road | Humerail, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $58 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paxton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paxton Hotel is situated in Port Elizabeth, affectionately known as the 'Friendly City' of South Africa.The hotel overlooks the harbour offering magnificent views ofAlgoa Bay.This beachfront hotel offers luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller and has very proudly won the AA Travel Awards for the 'Best Commercial Hotel' in South Africa, for four consecutive years. The Hotel is conveniently situated close to the airport, restaurants, gym, The Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex and many beautiful beaches.We offer special packages for families, younger generations and online specials as well as value for money deals on weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Paxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paxton Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing