We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay”
Review of Paxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paxton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Lovely hotel, extremely comfortable and relaxing. Friendly staff who are always accommodating, they cater to one's every need. There are restaurants within walking distance as well as a small shopping centre, very handy. Overall it was a superb stay!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FootprintSportTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 354 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is quite a nice hotel. Rooms are modern with flat screen TV and good amenities, separate bathroom with Shower/bath/toilet – However the shower if very very small – bend down to pick up the soap and the double door flys open spilling water ontyo the floor or you hit the tap and cold water comes out.

Single lift which can be slow.

No dinner served here but there is a nice restaurant across the carpark in the little shopping centre called Captains Table – also another one a bit further on.

Breakfast was fine although the hot food was all served through a single servery which was a little odd and can be slow if there are many guests.

Free WIFI in the foyer area which is a major tick for me.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozitravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Checkin was ok, didn't tell me what time meals were so had to ask and anything about the hotel.
No help with bags, not sure if 4 stars requires that these days.

Went to reception to purchase wifi, as indicated by fellow reviewers its expensive here. 200mb for R80 is steep. Most hotels nowadays offer free wifi to guest or at a reasonable rates. Disappointing to say the least.

Rooms very comfortable and clean. Definitely 4 star rating, space and huge shower. Very well done.

Room service takes a long time, so be prepared to wait, average 50 min. Both night they didn't have what I requested off there already limited menu. No steak, then no pudding....oops. Didn't get asked the first night if I wanted chips or veg, just got French fries, hummmmmm. The second night was asked, but they missed the salad!

Keep away from the sirloin on the menu, tuff as old boots. Still getting it out of my teeth.

Breakfast starts at 06h30, so arrived at 06h35 as do most business men. Went up to the buffet and had to ask a staff member for a bowl, was then told that they were busy setting up still, wow thats my problem why?, all in all the breakfast was comparable to the City Lodge hotel down the road. Nothing exiting or different!

Had a problem with my shower in the morning, more water on the floor and ceiling than on me, reported it to a young trainee in the morning and was told it would be fixed. It was, well done.

Check out this morning was efficient but very impersonal, could have asked how my stay was, or given a nice smile. In comparison, the young trainee at reception was very friendly with guests checking out, well done.

All in all, a nice alternative to my usual City Lodge PE, but nothing special. Just better value for money. Suggestion, rather eat out down the road if you can.

This hotel should be full all the time, just some service issues can make a huge difference.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSAPE, Manager at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Mark L

We would like to thank you for staying with us on your resent trip to the friendly city of Port Elizabeth.

Your detailed feedback is must appreciated and will assist us a great deal in improving our services we offer.
With reference to our Room Service as well as our Food and Beverage department it has been noted and forwarded for action.

Whilst still locked into some unwanted agreement on our WiFi offering in our bedrooms, I very pleased to advise that all WiFi is for FREE in our public areas (restaurant, foyer and function rooms).

Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback, suggestions and would look forward to welcome you back in the not to distend future to assure you on the improvements.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at the Paxton last week. Friendly staff, excellent porter service and the rooms just have a good feel to it. There is a small shopping centre close by to satisfy your basic needs. The hotel does not serve dinner but there are restaurants close by. The hotel has a bar facility. I stayed with a group and many people of the group said to me that they have enjoyed the Paxton.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, try the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissaDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

On our three week trip with a group of 8 throughout South Africa we were happy to stay in this excellent modern city hotel which was business-like but also made us as vacation travellers feel at home instantly. The reception was efficient, helpfull and friendly, the location of the hotel is good, the design is cosy and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. We had a simple but well prepared diner in the hotel in the evening and the breakfast was excellent serviced and prepared. Well done Paxton! Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robincornelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part our honeymoon. The hotel is chic and functional. Probably rather for the business traveler than for the romantic get away. The rooms are nicely decorated, breakfast was very good. All rooms have a harbor view. It is about 5 mins drive from the Boardwalk. Nowhere really to go around the hotel so good if you have a car.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I went there a while ago, and I should say, the rooms are a bit small, but nice and cosy. Also, we stayed there for one night and checked out early the next morning. Room Service was a bit slow.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outandaboutKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#14 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paxton Hotel

Address: Carnarvon Place & Beach Road | Humerail, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $57 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paxton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paxton Hotel is situated in Port Elizabeth, affectionately known as the 'Friendly City' of South Africa.The hotel overlooks the harbour offering magnificent views ofAlgoa Bay.This beachfront hotel offers luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller and has very proudly won the AA Travel Awards for the 'Best Commercial Hotel' in South Africa, for four consecutive years. The Hotel is conveniently situated close to the airport, restaurants, gym, The Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex and many beautiful beaches.We offer special packages for families, younger generations and online specials as well as value for money deals on weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Paxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paxton Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing