We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this hotel”
Review of Paxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paxton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I spent four nights at the Paxton Hotel for work. The hotel is small, with nicely decorated rooms and reception area and a small swimming pool. The breakfast was plentiful - eggs, sausages, hashbrowns (not every day), selection of pastries, cereals, bread and fruit. The hotel does not have a restaurant if you needed to have lunch/dinner. There is a 'kitchen' which offers room service and the menu is very limited. If you do not eat chicken/meat and did not want vegetarian, there was only one seafood option on the menu. The kitchen staff is not very flexible as I requested if I could have a light snack that would suit my dietary needs and was told its not possible. The major issue I had with this hotel is that there is nothing around the hotel - you need to take a cab to get anywhere. You can't go for a walk around the hotel. The stars of this hotel are the reception staff. They are very friendly and helpful. Check in/check out was quick and they arranged cabs for when we had to go out for a meal. They called the Kragga Kamma Game Park to arrange for our mini-safari and booked the cab for us. Because of its location far from everything, this is not a hotel that I would recommend (unless you have your own means of transport).

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor have a balcony (which you cannot go out onto) and blocks the view. Ask fo...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YayShub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Paxton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 328 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is near the harbour and north of the main beach strip in Port Elizabeth. The rooms are large with a good sized desk, bath and shower and with a safe that can accommodate a laptop. There are not many restaurants in the immediate vicinity but there is a supermarket and coffee shop close by. Breakfast was good and even included the option of waffles which was a first for me in South Africa.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview as not all rooms have this.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citrusbugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

What prompted me to write this review was that one of the few redeeming features of this hotel let it down very badly. I'm talking about the fresh muffins at breakfast, I cunningly smuggle them out of breakfast to have as a mid morning snack, usually they're soft and warm with a good crunchy crust. Not today; rock hard and burnt to a crisp, very upsetting.

The only good thing about this hotel has now fallen by the way side and unfortunately, the muffins go in the numerous and extensive list of problems with the Paxton.

1. poor internet
2. shower leaks
3. dirty kettle (and why doesn't it ever stop boiling)
4. mis-match of channels on the telly and very slow to change
5. ice machine broke (it did get fixed quite quickly, and they have ice from the bar, to be fair..........)
6. souless bar
7. noisy air con
8. plastic omelettes
9. un-ripe fruit
10. beds are too small (5'8 and still have my feet poking out)
11. room service not arriving (not hungry enough/too tired to chase it up)
12. No plug sockets next to the bed. INFURIATING.
13. Staff take the soap, shower gel and shampoo OUT OF THE SHOWER. I put them there, because I use these products EXCLUSIVELY IN THE SHOWER.

Bare in mind that the dodgy muffins have fuelled my anger enough to write a review but it's worth mentioning that the Paxton is ok; it's clean and comfortable and in a good location and the staff are pretty good considering the infrastructure they have to work in but there must be better options in Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TC_On_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSAPE, Manager at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

We at the Paxton Hotel would like to thank you forgiving us your feedback on your resent visit. It is because of guests feedback like yours that we are able to continually improve on any shortcomings. We would like to assure you that you list addressing and highlighting your resent experience has been received by management and action will be taken. Whilst not questioning your findings with our early morning breakfast muffins, we would like to advise that all our buffet items (bread, muffins, croissants, danishes) are baked freshly, daily. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity in the not to distant future to welcome you back and share our Service with Excellence drive, share our visions and receive some more valued input from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Excellent friendly and efficient service from all of the staff.
Excellent rooms that are spotlessly clean
Excellent all round value for money - do yourself a favour and stay here!

I travel frequently and have stayed at many hotels all over the world and find the Paxton exceptional.

From the little treats in your room, (biscuits,dried fruit and chocolates) to the complimentary drink voucher at the bar to the name of the attendant who cleaned your room to the new white sheets on the bed, everything just shows they go the extra mile for their customers.

The breakfast buffet is a very well presented and the chef even personally came out to bring me my specific order - all cooked to perfection and superior quality foods.


Very central to everything in the area as well as the airport.

I will always stay here when I am in PE. Any negative reviews about The Paxton being a plain old style hotel in the negative are totally unjustified in my opinion. Its a 4star hotel with 5star customer care!

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the lifts are always quieter because some guests leave really early or come...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyfall_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It is a good place where to stay in PE.More like business type of hotel with friendly staff, bar and restaurant. Rooms are very big and clean we had also room with covered balcony facing ocean. Room decor was also very nice. Even that area around is not a city center and you would not walk around it is nice as a point from which you can drive to city or places around or for airport which is close.

Room Tip: Room with balcony facing ocean
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helicid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hetel looks good from the outside. Inside though its has the feel of just another boilerplate hotel, where everything is extra. Staff was rude and inefficient. The room was small although well appointed. Bathroom was minute but clean. WiFi was expensive. The main advantage of this hotel is the location - near the airport. Very useful when one has an early flight out of PE. The view of the working harbour with all the cranes does not show off PE beauty. Basically a non discipt hotel near an airport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSAPE, Owner at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Adrian J

We at the Paxton Hotel would like to thank you for feedback and for staying with us on your resent visit Port Elizabeth. We noted your comments on our view of our harbour and assure you that together with the authorities the landscape is going to change in the very near future when the new deep water harbour in Coega will take over.
We are most concerned on the comments concerning staff members and will have an investigation into any behavior not becoming our constant drive to practice on our “Service Excellence” pledge.
We are also pleased to advise that the hotel is currently completing a major facelift throughout.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we would like to welcome you back to proof our commitment to you, our valued guest.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I always use the Paxton when in Port Elizabeth, position is great for me as I am close to the port and a short trip to Coega with the motorway entrance close to the hotel. I have used this hotel for many years and have never been disappointed. Great value for money, good for the airport and waterfront eateries and pubs. Work station in the room is OK, multi power points a big plus.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms close to the stairwell and the elevator
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
440 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
486 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#15 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paxton Hotel

Address: Carnarvon Place & Beach Road | Humerail, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $58 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paxton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paxton Hotel is situated in Port Elizabeth, affectionately known as the 'Friendly City' of South Africa.The hotel overlooks the harbour offering magnificent views ofAlgoa Bay.This beachfront hotel offers luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller and has very proudly won the AA Travel Awards for the 'Best Commercial Hotel' in South Africa, for four consecutive years. The Hotel is conveniently situated close to the airport, restaurants, gym, The Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex and many beautiful beaches.We offer special packages for families, younger generations and online specials as well as value for money deals on weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Paxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paxton Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing