We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Clean”
Review of Paxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paxton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Excellent check-in staff.

Rooms are a good size and clean with a very comfortable bed. The room had a separate bath and shower.

Meals in the evening have to be taken off a limited room service menu, however they can be taken in the bar which makes for a better experience.

Throughout the stay the staff were efficient and friendly.

Unfortunately......expensive WiFi

I was on a tour so only stayed one night so didn't explore the hotels location, however I was warned off exploring after dark by our tour rep.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 347 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

My sister & I stayed for 2 nights prior to a safari trip.Hotel position not great but staff could not have been more friendly & helpful, going out of their way to advise us where it is/isn't safe to walk & which features are worth visiting, booking restaurants & ordering taxis.Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sedateskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is the 4th time that I have had the pleasure of staying as a guest at the Paxton. I think that Werner, mary and the other managers run the hotel with excellent efficiency to a very high standard.

The check in staff are so friendly and helpful, efficient and I am always greeted with a smile. OK, so there is not porter to assist with luggage but if one asks assistance is not far away.

The rooms are superbly appointed with local and national art and furnishings, very comfortable and plenty of room. The bathrooms are of a high standard too my only observation here is the shower cubical is a little small but, there is a bath too, a full size one at that (room 1115) where I stayed this time.

Well done Werner, mary and Team - John and I will be back the next time I am over from the UK.

In summary, well worth a visit if you are on the garden route, an excellent hotel throughout.

Room Tip: Room 1115 has excellent views over the harbour and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I would say it's a good place to stay a night or two (which a lot of casual travelers do before embarking on Garden Route).

Good rooms, free/safe parking for your car, bar and pool on property. The staff didn't seem that helpful - they saw us struggling with our luggage but wouldn't offer help and looked the other way.

Overall, good value for money but I wouldn't stay for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Live_It_Ez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights at Paxton Hotel. The reservation was made through booking.com. General speaking, the hotel is not something exceptional. Staff is friendly. The room was just OK, however the shower was too small and uncomfortable. Additionally, there was no mini bar. Internet (wifi) charge was quite expensive. Breakfast was plentiful (available on the ground floor) however lunch or dinner are not served. In conclusion..if you are travelling on business, it would not be a bad choice only for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I was on business in the city and decided to stay at a hotel, instead of the normal Bed & Breakfast establishment. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and efficient. I loved the welcome gift (small bag of chocolates). I was a bit concerned about the loud music coming from the suites opposite the hotel - but this fortunately did not go on too long. I would suggest that they at one stage or other reconsider the breakfast lay-out. I prefer dishing my own breakfast (warm stuff) - as I do not eat much - and I dislike the fact that breakfast has to be dished for you. Otherwise - I had a great stay - and would return to the Paxton.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theroncee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were in Port Elizabeth for only two nights before heading out to Kruger for the safari portion of our South African adventure.

We stayed at the Paxton both nights, and while not a bad experience, there was nothing that great about the hotel either. The room was well kept & nicely decorated and comfortable, but the bathroom was not up to expectation. Besides being completely out dated, it was really small and the shower was nearly unusable because it was such a tight fit with weird glass doors that did not properly close.

The hotel was fine for a quick two night stay as a stop over point, but we would have been really disappointed if we were staying any longer than 2 nights. The front desk/concierge was not very helpful when we requested restaurant recommendations - both times we were pointed to very touristy/chain restaurants, which we specifically said that we were not interested in.

All in all, we would not stay at the Paxton again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jodiekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
503 reviews
1.5 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#13 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
117 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paxton Hotel

Address: Carnarvon Place & Beach Road | Humerail, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $54 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paxton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paxton Hotel is situated in Port Elizabeth, affectionately known as the 'Friendly City' of South Africa.The hotel overlooks the harbour offering magnificent views ofAlgoa Bay.This beachfront hotel offers luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller and has very proudly won the AA Travel Awards for the 'Best Commercial Hotel' in South Africa, for four consecutive years. The Hotel is conveniently situated close to the airport, restaurants, gym, The Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex and many beautiful beaches.We offer special packages for families, younger generations and online specials as well as value for money deals on weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paxton Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing