We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Helpful”
Review of Paxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paxton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Most Helpful”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

My sister & I stayed for 2 nights prior to a safari trip.Hotel position not great but staff could not have been more friendly & helpful, going out of their way to advise us where it is/isn't safe to walk & which features are worth visiting, booking restaurants & ordering taxis.Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sedateskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    105
    65
    11
    10
See reviews for
52
97
9
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is the 4th time that I have had the pleasure of staying as a guest at the Paxton. I think that Werner, mary and the other managers run the hotel with excellent efficiency to a very high standard.

The check in staff are so friendly and helpful, efficient and I am always greeted with a smile. OK, so there is not porter to assist with luggage but if one asks assistance is not far away.

The rooms are superbly appointed with local and national art and furnishings, very comfortable and plenty of room. The bathrooms are of a high standard too my only observation here is the shower cubical is a little small but, there is a bath too, a full size one at that (room 1115) where I stayed this time.

Well done Werner, mary and Team - John and I will be back the next time I am over from the UK.

In summary, well worth a visit if you are on the garden route, an excellent hotel throughout.

Room Tip: Room 1115 has excellent views over the harbour and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I would say it's a good place to stay a night or two (which a lot of casual travelers do before embarking on Garden Route).

Good rooms, free/safe parking for your car, bar and pool on property. The staff didn't seem that helpful - they saw us struggling with our luggage but wouldn't offer help and looked the other way.

Overall, good value for money but I wouldn't stay for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Live_It_Ez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights at Paxton Hotel. The reservation was made through booking.com. General speaking, the hotel is not something exceptional. Staff is friendly. The room was just OK, however the shower was too small and uncomfortable. Additionally, there was no mini bar. Internet (wifi) charge was quite expensive. Breakfast was plentiful (available on the ground floor) however lunch or dinner are not served. In conclusion..if you are travelling on business, it would not be a bad choice only for a couple of days.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I was on business in the city and decided to stay at a hotel, instead of the normal Bed & Breakfast establishment. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and efficient. I loved the welcome gift (small bag of chocolates). I was a bit concerned about the loud music coming from the suites opposite the hotel - but this fortunately did not go on too long. I would suggest that they at one stage or other reconsider the breakfast lay-out. I prefer dishing my own breakfast (warm stuff) - as I do not eat much - and I dislike the fact that breakfast has to be dished for you. Otherwise - I had a great stay - and would return to the Paxton.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theroncee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were in Port Elizabeth for only two nights before heading out to Kruger for the safari portion of our South African adventure.

We stayed at the Paxton both nights, and while not a bad experience, there was nothing that great about the hotel either. The room was well kept & nicely decorated and comfortable, but the bathroom was not up to expectation. Besides being completely out dated, it was really small and the shower was nearly unusable because it was such a tight fit with weird glass doors that did not properly close.

The hotel was fine for a quick two night stay as a stop over point, but we would have been really disappointed if we were staying any longer than 2 nights. The front desk/concierge was not very helpful when we requested restaurant recommendations - both times we were pointed to very touristy/chain restaurants, which we specifically said that we were not interested in.

All in all, we would not stay at the Paxton again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jodiekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stay on bussiness at this hotel every month and the the Sea facing rooms are the best.The service from all the staff is excellent including the the Director Werner who always is there to sort out any query you might have. I consider this hotel real value for money considering the rate they charge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capetownjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.2 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paxton Hotel

Property: Paxton Hotel
Address: Carnarvon Place & Beach Road | Humerail, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paxton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paxton Hotel is situated in Port Elizabeth, affectionately known as the 'Friendly City' of South Africa.The hotel overlooks the harbour offering magnificent views ofAlgoa Bay.This beachfront hotel offers luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller and has very proudly won the AA Travel Awards for the 'Best Commercial Hotel' in South Africa, for four consecutive years. The Hotel is conveniently situated close to the airport, restaurants, gym, The Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex and many beautiful beaches.We offer special packages for families, younger generations and online specials as well as value for money deals on weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paxton Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing