We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Paxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paxton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stay on bussiness at this hotel every month and the the Sea facing rooms are the best.The service from all the staff is excellent including the the Director Werner who always is there to sort out any query you might have. I consider this hotel real value for money considering the rate they charge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capetownjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    105
    65
    11
    11
See reviews for
53
97
9
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

moderate accommodation but poor service and poor attitude from staff. No evening meal on site Nothing acceptable by way of food in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piknmix57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is a "basic" privately owned hotel. I stay here often on business and it serves it's purpose well.

The staff are great and really friendly, you always feel welcome.

Rooms are good size and very comfortable. Showers are a little small and amenities average but for the usual 1 or 2 night stay, it is perfect.

Very close to the airport which is a big bonus for me.

The bar is small and stocks your essentials but the breakfast is brilliant. The Restaurant Manager is a hoot.

The pool/ terrace area is great for an afternoon drink. There are many restaurants just 10 minutes away so eating in is not required. Room Service does close by 22h00 which can be bothersom.

All in all, comfortable, competitive rates and great staff will keep me coming back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babv5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed 1 night - 30 April - prior to early flight to JNB - Room 2123

Modern room spacious - very friendly check-in staff - no major issues - although we arrived late and left early, so did not get time to use any facilities, etc.

Used the business centre pc to check-in online as no FREE WiFi was available - reception kindly printed our boarding passes too.

The shower in the bathroom was rather 'snug' and quite awkward to get into and manoeuvre once inside - other than that all OK.

Rooms had flat screen TV with plenty of channels, tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer and adapters. The AC was a little noisy, but efficient.

We ordered a breakfast box as our early flight meant we had to leave prior to breakfast and this was a great surprise as it came with sandwich, crisps (chips), fruit, chocolate bar and juice box.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We recently stayed at the Paxton Hotel for one night on our way to driving the Garden Route. As a South African who lived in PE when she was younger, I would say that this was a poor choice with regard to location, as I had wanted a sea view. The hotel was good, the staff were pleasant and friendly and the breakfast was good.

The view is of the harbour, which turned out to be OK, as my husband likes to watch the ships come and go etc.

Fine for what we wanted, but perhaps not for a family holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazza88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

No, not really. Small swimming pool overlooking harbor and old fuel storage tanks. Rooms are on the small side and they could not find me a sponge or fibre pillow as feather pillows give me hay-fever.

The buffet breakfast was first class though and very helpful staff.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank johnsmitjoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Stayed at the Paxton Hotel for the first night of our trip following a long journey and so pleased we did.
Ideally placed from the airport within a 10 minute drive and had ample car parking.
Our room was comfortable and extremely clean, with everything we needed. Service was very good and had a lovely reception and bar area.
Breakfast was ample and hot food freshly prepared.
We found a very nice restaurant for our evening meal opposite the hotel which had lovely views across the harbour.
Would recommend this hotel to get your trip off to a good start.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.2 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
427 reviews
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
49 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paxton Hotel

Property: Paxton Hotel
Address: Carnarvon Place & Beach Road | Humerail, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paxton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paxton Hotel is situated in Port Elizabeth, affectionately known as the 'Friendly City' of South Africa.The hotel overlooks the harbour offering magnificent views ofAlgoa Bay.This beachfront hotel offers luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller and has very proudly won the AA Travel Awards for the 'Best Commercial Hotel' in South Africa, for four consecutive years. The Hotel is conveniently situated close to the airport, restaurants, gym, The Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex and many beautiful beaches.We offer special packages for families, younger generations and online specials as well as value for money deals on weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paxton Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing