We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, quiet and old-fashioned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmoor
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quaint, quiet and old-fashioned”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The previous two reviews published after we had booked this hotel gave us concern, but the many other excellent earlier comments from which we had chosen Hacklewood Hill for an overnight stop near the airport were reassuring. The large colonial style house sat in a rather overgrown garden and we found that we were the only guests in an old-fashioned rambling mansion. The very large bedroom and even larger bathroom were well-equipped and fruit, biscuits, sherry, coffee machine and minibar available. Our bed was turned down with chocolates on the pillows. The one member of staff who looked after our needs was very attentive and pleasant and tried very hard to please. The evening meal was good, but breakfast was little disappointing and hastily put together. Probably because we were the only guests, the atmosphere very quiet and almost eerie and we departed somewhat thankfully back into the real world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChasDartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    50
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
151
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a nice tranquil environment. The rooms were clean and had a nice large bathroom. It was close to the airport and it was easy ro get to the beach or mall from there. the staff were helpful with directions and whatever was needed. The food was also good. Service was sometimes slow but overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortiaMogale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a lovely little place, set in its own garden and convenient both for arrival from the Garden Route and for the airport. Rooms are enormous and beautifully appointed, with palatial bathrooms! Breakfast seemed a little slow, though Paul was doing his best to look after us all, and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I would personally like to extend a sincere thank you to The Hacklewood team for their amazing kindness. efforts and willingness to help and accommodate us. Your guys hardwork and dedication pays off in the extra miles you are willing to walk for your guests. Such a beautiful retreat for all who have the pleasure of staying there. We at Red Era truly look forward to working together on many more special occasions. Kinky Robot were thrilled beyond words with their rooms and royal treatment. Thanks again! Till next time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are truly magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Sincere thanks to all at Hacklewood Hill Country House for a fabulous stay during our Rock 'n Ride 4 Rhino warm-up tour. It was wonderful to spend a night in such gracious surroundings, sleep restfully in our beautiful bedroom and be treated to a delicious breakfast - all of which contributed to energising us all for the next leg of our tour. I highly recommend this gorgeous Guest House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiEstment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have to say a special thank you to the management and staff particularly Tiffany for their kind hospitality and for making our stay truly awesome! We booked four rooms and each of us were treated royally and enjoyed the spacious and beautifully decorated rooms and bathrooms thoroughly. We recommend African Pride Hacklewood highly and would be very surprised by any negative reviews as we who travel extensively locally and abroad all tought it was a real treat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here at the end of our 2 week holiday having thoroughly enjoyed all the other hotels we stayed in. The Hacklewood could only be described as very shabby, our room had a large bathroom which was in desperate need of refurbishment light bulbs were broken and the taps in the washbasin were loose , tiles on the floor were cracked and generally the whole place was very shabby.

All in all this country house spoilt the end of a really lovely holiday.However the staff were very helpful and can't be blamed for the shabbiness of the place, supposed to be 5 star, I would only give it 2.

Room Tip: Try the new Boardwalk hotel on the beach front, we went here for a meal which was lovely, and the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
4.4 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
5.3 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
5.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
3.6 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacklewood Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacklewood Hill Country House

Property: Hacklewood Hill Country House
Address: 152 Prospect Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacklewood Hill Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1898, and nestled in a lush English garden setting in the leafy suburb of Walmer, Hacklewood Hill is one of the few remaining Victorian Manor Houses in the city, and as such retains much of the elegance and grace it would have boasted when its first inhabitants – a young doctor and his family – once lived here. Guests are greeted with intricately stained glass doors, gleaming wooden floors and the gentle sheen of wooden banisters lovingly buffed and polished for more than a century. Wandering around the house’s two reception rooms, your eye naturally gravitates from one fascinating period piece to another. A black and white checkerboard tiled veranda overlooks a sparkling swimming pool, perfect for leisurely dips on hot summer days – while the well-established garden beckons for a quiet stroll or perhaps even a civilised game of croquet on the lawn. The more energetic can opt for a gentlemanly game of tennis or just choose a secluded spot in the garden to enjoy the abundant birdlife which calls the grounds of Hacklewood home. The manor house’s eight luxury en suite rooms which are equally as enticing, especially as each so perfectly captures the essence of the Victorian Age. Each is individually decorated in palettes ranging from pastel blues and rose bedecked pinks to more masculine browns and reds. As a result, each room has its own unique character and returning guests will enjoy experiencing them all, and will, no doubt, be loath to pick a favourite at the end. In order to truly experience Hacklewood Hill at the height of its stately Victorian glory, guests need to make a point of opting for at least one dinner at the house’s five star restaurant. The dining room’s magnificent chandelier lights, to full perfection the cut glass, crystal goblets, starched linen and full silver service on the tables below, while superbly trained waiters serve a splendid array of cordon bleu dishes that emanate from the kitchen. Little wonder that the restaurant has garnered itself a slew of fine dining awards and has become a firm favourite on the Port Elizabeth dining scene – not only for its exquisite dinners, but also full English breakfasts, High Tea's and light lunches. For a thoroughly enjoyable trip back to a time when days were long and unhurried, furnishings were beautiful and handmade, and every meal was an occasion to use only the best china and silverware, guests need look no further than Hacklewood Hill Country House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hacklewood Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacklewood Hill Country House Hotel Port Elizabeth
Hacklewood Hill Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing