We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an intimate dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for an intimate dinner”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently had dinner at Hacklewood and were a little apprehensive as we had previously had a bad experience with dinner there. But this was quite a few years ago and probably a few chefs ago too.

Our evening was an experience and not just dinner out. It all starts from the minute you drive in the gate and are greeted by the very friendly manager on duty. We were made to feel very welcome and this really helped us to just relax and enjoy ourselves.

The wine list is quite extensive, but we chose a lovely red that arrived quickly and was enjoyed even more with the addition of some tasty table snacks. They didn't lasty long and with our tummies still growling we were shown to our table.

The atmosphere inside is very calm and because the hotel is tucked away in a park like garden it is also very quiet. With our wine topped up, our starters arrived. They were delicious and we could have had more... I had the trio of salmon which was just a perfect salute to this lovely fish. My husband had the vegetable salad which was very nice, was served ice cold. This was a dissappointment as he would have liked the vegetables slightly warm or room temperature.

The main course was served after a little sorbet which cleaned the palet. Our main course duly arrived and it was once again just perfect! I had the monk fish and the chef had really done a fabulous job adding flavour to this meaty fish. My hubby had the beef and it must have been good because he was quiet for most of his meal.

We didn't think that after all that delicious food we would have space for dessert, but we couldn't turn down the dark chocolate tart. This had the right combination of sweet and bitter and there was nothing left afterwards.

Our evening at Hacklewood was really so good and we are looking forward to our next visit. As a testament to how much we enjoyed ourselves, we bought our parents a voucher for dinner there too. The service and food is just too good not to be shared!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lipps74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    51
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
157
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Despatch, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Five star accommadation with six star sevice , with easy and quick access to PE airport it still has a quiet and relaxing atmosphere away from the daily city hassle and bustle, will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My partner & I wanted to try something new on Friday night & a place with good food.! Some friends told us about Hacklewoods Hill and WHOA am I glad that we went there. The food was out of this world, the service was excellent our glass was not even empty yet & the waitor would be filling it up :):)DEF a MUST!! The ambience of the house with the fine silver cutlery to the soft music in the background was just perfect we will definitely be doing this on a regular basis just to have a taste of that fabulous food!!! :):) Thanks guys XX

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naidine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you love a victorian style house, with fenomonal service and a antique warm interior this is your top place weahther for leisure or business. My father got a severe accident - and had stay in intensive care for a long time in St Georges PE- to allow my mother to be close to him she staid over a month at Hacklewood- it was a fenemenal experience for her - excellent service, splendid room and attentive heartwarming staff. A unque place with a heart, a soul and a service without compromises. Thank you everyone at hacklewood for such a great care and service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toversti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I had my wedding there. Had a fantastic stay the night before. The service and assistance with the planning was awsome and on the day everything was put into place with no error or delay. All done perfectly with all requirements/needs fullfilled the day before and during the wedding. A big thank you to Charlene, Dane and staff.

Natasha

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaVReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a very old colonial period establishment that has been lovingly restored and the buildings heritage fully preserved. There are antiques throughout the entire establishment, including a very rare drop down candle chandelier in the main dinning area. One feels a subtle transition to the eighteen hundreds just by walking through the double story accomodation. The culinary delights enjoyed by the visitor whilst dining will certainly be another highlight to be savoured, along with superb service from the staff. A memorable visit.

Room Tip: All upper floor units are individually furnished in a tasteful manner, so as to preserve the heritag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

As the name suggests, this is a true Country House hotel with period furnishings and decor and old fashioned good service. The rooms are lavish, and we had the most comfortable bed I have slept in for years. Food is superb - the only problem is eating too much! Good selection of wines and staff are knowledgeable about their selection. Staff can't do enough for you. It is a shame that modern faceless hotels are becoming popular - give me this style of hotel any time.

Room Tip: The rooms with front balcony are fabulous in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
4.4 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
470 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
5.3 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
426 reviews
5.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
3.1 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacklewood Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacklewood Hill Country House

Property: Hacklewood Hill Country House
Address: 152 Prospect Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacklewood Hill Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1898, and nestled in a lush English garden setting in the leafy suburb of Walmer, Hacklewood Hill is one of the few remaining Victorian Manor Houses in the city, and as such retains much of the elegance and grace it would have boasted when its first inhabitants – a young doctor and his family – once lived here. Guests are greeted with intricately stained glass doors, gleaming wooden floors and the gentle sheen of wooden banisters lovingly buffed and polished for more than a century. Wandering around the house’s two reception rooms, your eye naturally gravitates from one fascinating period piece to another. A black and white checkerboard tiled veranda overlooks a sparkling swimming pool, perfect for leisurely dips on hot summer days – while the well-established garden beckons for a quiet stroll or perhaps even a civilised game of croquet on the lawn. The more energetic can opt for a gentlemanly game of tennis or just choose a secluded spot in the garden to enjoy the abundant birdlife which calls the grounds of Hacklewood home. The manor house’s eight luxury en suite rooms which are equally as enticing, especially as each so perfectly captures the essence of the Victorian Age. Each is individually decorated in palettes ranging from pastel blues and rose bedecked pinks to more masculine browns and reds. As a result, each room has its own unique character and returning guests will enjoy experiencing them all, and will, no doubt, be loath to pick a favourite at the end. In order to truly experience Hacklewood Hill at the height of its stately Victorian glory, guests need to make a point of opting for at least one dinner at the house’s five star restaurant. The dining room’s magnificent chandelier lights, to full perfection the cut glass, crystal goblets, starched linen and full silver service on the tables below, while superbly trained waiters serve a splendid array of cordon bleu dishes that emanate from the kitchen. Little wonder that the restaurant has garnered itself a slew of fine dining awards and has become a firm favourite on the Port Elizabeth dining scene – not only for its exquisite dinners, but also full English breakfasts, High Tea's and light lunches. For a thoroughly enjoyable trip back to a time when days were long and unhurried, furnishings were beautiful and handmade, and every meal was an occasion to use only the best china and silverware, guests need look no further than Hacklewood Hill Country House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hacklewood Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacklewood Hill Country House Hotel Port Elizabeth
Hacklewood Hill Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing