We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in PE and Top in South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Beautifull Victorian style, great rooms and bathrooms, - like going back in time a nice experience. Quiete area with lovely garden, sit outside when you like,,,and very friendly staff! Makes a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toversti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Hacklewood Hill Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 288 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed for the first night of our holiday after a long flight from Sydney.

The location is excellent being just 5 mins drive from the airport. The house retains all it's charm and the rooms are first class. I loved the bathroom in our room.

We were the only guests staying and were looked after like family. The service was excellent.

If your looking for a first night hotel before heading off down the garden route then this is the place. It's way, way better than the rather faulty towers look it has on it's web site :).

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelheapsoftimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed here just to overnight before heading off on a safari with a friend out near Grahamstown. The service is top notch, very friendly and on point. The house itself is a nice old British Colonial house with great old world charm to it. I did notice that it was a bit worn in some areas, not dirty at all but just showing its age. Also I found the bed to be too hard. However if you ask me this is the ONLY place to stay in PE. The food was wonderful and served on a classic silver livery (a nice touch) and they offer a very good selection of wine and spirits. I will admit my standards are very high and they met most of them, truly a lovely private hotel. If I am every back in PE for a safari I will stay there again without hesitation. Oh i should add for the value it is a no brainer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VIE-exPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed in the Hackwood Hill for our last 5 days in South Africa having travelled 1200 miles down the Garden Route from Cape Town. What a fantastic country house hotel, our room, The Madilba was to die for, huge 4 poster bed, claw foot bath and the bathroom was so huge we could have waltzed round it. The staff were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble (as has been said before). The food was amazing and as on a few of our days we were the only guests we were treated like Lord & Lady of the Manor. Parts of the decor are a little "tired" if you look closely but on the whole I thought the whole experience was wonderful. The pool is adequate for the size of the hotel but it is very shaded by the trees and if you are looking to sunbathe you will be moving every 20 minutes to stay in the sun. The gardens are beautiful and well tended by numerous gardeners.

The weather unfortunately whilst we were there was not very good, cloudy, and lots of rain and there is not much to do in Port Elizabeth. There is the pier and The Boardwalk shopping centre. We did visit a lion park nearby which was a great experience and our taxi driver did the tour for us at half the price that the tour companies quote.

Ivan and Dean more or less run the hotel between them and at times were run ragged but that never once interfered with their brilliant service to us - they are both a credit to the owner. We asked if we could have the traditional dish of Bobotie on our last night and even though it wasn't on the menu they did it for us and it was delicious. The pancakes, grilled banana, bacon and maple syrup for breakfast was also divine - don't knock it until you've tried it !!!!.

If we are ever in Port Elizabeth we most certainly stay at Hacklewood Hill - a truly memorable and magical experience.

Joy Peck

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyBarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We, being my husband and I, returned as we do a few times a year on business. We never stayed often in 2010 due to escalated prices due the World Cup being held in SA.

This year our favourite room was in need of a refurbishment - the carpets where badly stained and the bathroom needed some attention not to mention the buzzing compressor from outside the building - two missing security personel in the morning when trying to leave early made our stay less memorable of a normally remarkable hotel.

We did lodge a complaint in writing and where assured they would attend to the problems we noted as it is a firm favourite of ours when visiting Port Elizabeth - a home from home.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms upstairs are very nice
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathiCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed one night here before catching a flight to Durban. Haven't enjoyed a bath so much for 40 years. A really big bath to soak in. Room reminiscent of my youth. Nice and old-fashioned. Food amazingly good and well balanced together with an excellent wine cellar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We have just returned from our 3 week stay in South africa, we went to a friends wedding which was fabulous. We stayed in several hotels on route and have to say this is the best one. nothing too much trouble, the house was fantastic, victorian all original features kept. dinner was set up for My husband and I in the library, candle lit very intimate.Cant understand where one of the previous reviews came from I swam and the pool was perfect, tennis court was great. The staff were attentive, the food 5 star. who needs a reception desk when the staff are always around. the room was amazing 4 poster bed with a bathroom to die for. Maybe the previous review would be more comfortable in a travel lodge as they do not seem to have much taste for the better things in life. Thank you so much for our lovely stay and yes I would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeangeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
4.4 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
486 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
5.3 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
327 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
440 reviews
5.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacklewood Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacklewood Hill Country House

Address: 152 Prospect Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $119 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacklewood Hill Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1898, and nestled in a lush English garden setting in the leafy suburb of Walmer, Hacklewood Hill is one of the few remaining Victorian Manor Houses in the city, and as such retains much of the elegance and grace it would have boasted when its first inhabitants – a young doctor and his family – once lived here. Guests are greeted with intricately stained glass doors, gleaming wooden floors and the gentle sheen of wooden banisters lovingly buffed and polished for more than a century. Wandering around the house’s two reception rooms, your eye naturally gravitates from one fascinating period piece to another. A black and white checkerboard tiled veranda overlooks a sparkling swimming pool, perfect for leisurely dips on hot summer days – while the well-established garden beckons for a quiet stroll or perhaps even a civilised game of croquet on the lawn. The more energetic can opt for a gentlemanly game of tennis or just choose a secluded spot in the garden to enjoy the abundant birdlife which calls the grounds of Hacklewood home. The manor house’s eight luxury en suite rooms which are equally as enticing, especially as each so perfectly captures the essence of the Victorian Age. Each is individually decorated in palettes ranging from pastel blues and rose bedecked pinks to more masculine browns and reds. As a result, each room has its own unique character and returning guests will enjoy experiencing them all, and will, no doubt, be loath to pick a favourite at the end. In order to truly experience Hacklewood Hill at the height of its stately Victorian glory, guests need to make a point of opting for at least one dinner at the house’s five star restaurant. The dining room’s magnificent chandelier lights, to full perfection the cut glass, crystal goblets, starched linen and full silver service on the tables below, while superbly trained waiters serve a splendid array of cordon bleu dishes that emanate from the kitchen. Little wonder that the restaurant has garnered itself a slew of fine dining awards and has become a firm favourite on the Port Elizabeth dining scene – not only for its exquisite dinners, but also full English breakfasts, High Tea's and light lunches. For a thoroughly enjoyable trip back to a time when days were long and unhurried, furnishings were beautiful and handmade, and every meal was an occasion to use only the best china and silverware, guests need look no further than Hacklewood Hill Country House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacklewood Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacklewood Hill Country House Hotel Port Elizabeth
Hacklewood Hill Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing