We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe at weekends, no manager on site at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Urban Hip Hotels - The Vic
Ranked #183 of 235 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This place is only for business people during the week. At weekends there is no-one on site and even on arrival you have to phone someone to come from 15 minutes away to open up. The duty manager advised us not to go anywhere in the evening on foot - we had no car - and where the only ones staying in the hotel. She new of a friendly taxi driver who would take us where ever we wanted to go - at a price. DO NOT GO THERE if you are a solo traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orchid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 21 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

The rooms were extremely comfortable and I was made to feel welcome on arrival. The location is great, and it certainly projects style and elegance. The staff are well trained. Ideal accomodation for business travel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I received a complimentary upgrade - was treated like royalty, and the staff were amazing! I will definitely be staying with them again! What a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Just visiting Port Elizabeth is a bad choice. However, it you need to go there, please do not choose Victoran Villa Guest Manor.
The pictures on the webpage are misleading. The first thing we needed to ask for was new - clean - sheets. The bathroom was dirty, actually everything was dirty. When we pointed out to the receptionist that we wanted to have clean sheets in the bed, they just tried to defend themselves and said that nothing was wrong.... hm.
For your own best and for a great stay in South Africa, we highly recommend not to even look at this place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resesida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

We pitched up in Port elizabeth in the middle of a 3 week holiday with just three things on our minds 1 - Catching a flight to Jo-Berg very early in the morning 2 - Getting some much needed laundry done and 3 - A bed for the night with easy access to the airport at a reasonable price.

Victorian villas won on all three counts. It is just 10 minutes from the airport, has a really good coin-op laundry just down the road and the B&B is comfortable with large air conditioned rooms, a lounge and spacious dining room. There is ample on site parking behind formidable security as the area looks a little rough after dark.

The property is a converted row of 3 Victorian houses knocked together in a tasteful way. The decor is modern and claen and the staff are very friendly. The perfect place for a one night stopover because that is all the time you will want to spend in PE, the town is a real dump with nothing for the tourist except the Boardwalk, a Disneyesque attempt at a casino, shopping and eating complex.

We were away very early in the morning and missed breakfast, but the staff made up a mountain of sandwiches, fruit and muffins for us and left them in the fridge for us to collect.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark&Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank trekstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Minke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
18.5 mi away
The Garden Lodge Guest House
4.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
8.3 mi away
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Dolphin Dance Lodge
#27 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Murphys
Murphys
#2 of 4 in Beachview
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
353 reviews
3.2 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hip Hotels - The Vic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hip Hotels - The Vic

Address: 22 28 Cape Road, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $76 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Hip Hotels - The Vic 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Urban Hip Hotels - The Vic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing