We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in PE, look up the Friendly Stranger!”
Review of Friendly Stranger

Friendly Stranger
Ranked #15 of 345 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When in PE, look up the Friendly Stranger!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We discovered this gem of a restaurant by accident while looking for another place...let me tell you, I am so happy we did!

Not sure what to expect, we ventured in and what we discovered was a mixture of Alice in Wonderland meets Trendy hipsters...a must visit!

While ordering lunch, we got to see the creation of their "confused cake"...layer of chocolate cake, carrot cake and red velvet cake with a cream cheese icing. After lunch, I just had to sample this creation and boy was I in heaven! This cake is absolutely delicious - each layer is so moist and takes your taste buds on a flavour journey.

Rather small upstairs, but there is a whole bottom sections so don't be fooled if you see there is no space!

Great food, great atmosphere and friendly staff - a hidden gem in a up and coming area in PE. When in PE, look up the Friendly Stranger!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angeliqueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect and unique place”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

One of the nicest restaurants in PE. The food was excellent and we could listen to life music. The furniture and the decoration are unique and awesome. Staff was very very nice and utterly caring. Perfect place for a perfect dinner!

Helpful?
1 Thank leandrae88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place and a refreshing break from the normal dreary spots. Trendy and vibey with good food. Service and beer offering could be improved.

Helpful?
Thank Travis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“best!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

awesome homely atmosphere, freshly prepared food & friendly service !

A true gem & certainly a forerunner!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Cake EVER...”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Work colleagues and I went there for a lunch, and the food was absolutely amazing! sizeable portions that are just enough to leave space for the best home cooked dessert ever. When sitting in the restuarant you are surrounded by this wonderful aroma of baking and fresh brewed coffee. Owners are friednly and the atmosphere was great! Definately a place to keep on your radar :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly Stranger also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Friendly Stranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing