We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cake EVER...”
Review of Friendly Stranger

Friendly Stranger
Ranked #15 of 345 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Cake EVER...”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Work colleagues and I went there for a lunch, and the food was absolutely amazing! sizeable portions that are just enough to leave space for the best home cooked dessert ever. When sitting in the restuarant you are surrounded by this wonderful aroma of baking and fresh brewed coffee. Owners are friednly and the atmosphere was great! Definately a place to keep on your radar :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mwah!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

OMW my Birthday Tea was simply divine! What a large choice of the most divine cakes & tarts. We ended up sharing a variety of the most delish cakes so that we could all have a taste of just about everything.
We will definitely be back & rate this as a real gem in P.E.!! ~ Lovely ambiance & decòr.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SGibson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good food, but let down by average service, and lack off all thier great beers on the menu. Orderd a pie, but took nearly a hour to get it. Quality once recived was great. Be prepared to wait

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Coffee and cake in relaxing atmosphere. Love the place!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, best coffee and cakes (carrot cake)in PE. The food very good! The service friendly and good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious tea time treats!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

What a quaint little place! There was a large selection of superb cakes and cheesecake when we visited and 4 of the varieties we tried were excellent. Will definitely go back for lunch to try the savory menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly Stranger also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Friendly Stranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing