We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of Yia Yias

Yia Yias
Ranked #79 of 345 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Food was just okay. Service was quick but a bit unprofessional. She didn't let me finish my sentence when ordering. "I would like a meze platter and...." *gone* After serving us the appetizer we got a change to order a main course. There are much better places in this area with the same or lower prices.

Don't sit close to the refrigerator with the deserts and pies. It's really loud.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AwesomeAike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Service let the meal down”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I went to Yia Yias with work associates - we were looking for a place in Stanley St and were attracted in by the buzz of this small restaurant being fairly full. Perhaps that was the mistake - the sole waitron was overwhelmed and could not cope. She also did not seem to know what to do, was uncertain about wines, and generally running around. She was very pleasant, so we felt rather sorry for her - a manager (if there was any such person) should have come out to explain or check on customers, but we never saw anyone else, except kitchen staff. The food was good enough, though not very exciting. Ultimately it did not deliver on its promises - I think it is probably a failure of management more than anything else.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank IanDogless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Yia Yia's holds a special place in our hearts. We have celebrated 50th birthdays with our family and recently our 30th wedding anniversary there. The atmosphere is unpretentious, warm and inviting. In summer you can dine at one of their sidewalk tables, enjoying the ambience of funky Stanley Street. The food is delicious and affordable Mediterranean fare. My favorite is their Lamb Souvlaki with oven roast veg. Their new "fresh from Greece chef" has added some traditional Greek dishes to the menu. Don't all rush now - we'd still like a table when we next visit!

Helpful?
Thank Claude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went there with a group of friends last week. Lovely menu and excellent service. Great evening - thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The food was delicious! The price was good too, not expensive. We had the prawns, they were really fresh! I would defenitely recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yia Yias also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Yia Yias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing