We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treat to try”

Kipling's Brasserie
Ranked #48 of 345 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dorset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A treat to try”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I ate there several times and the service was always really good. Good choice of food and wine was good at a sensible price. I entertained there but although I was phoned each day asking if I wanted a reservation the day I said no I went later but it was fully booked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoadrunnerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Silver Service”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our first visit to Kiplings was an unexpected delight. The ambience, the service and the attention to detail were first class - then along came the food and this was excellent - I had the Buttered chicken and my husband the Rogan Josh and both meals were superb, the wines were rather pricey though but we will certainly be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndylooSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Smart place but stay away if you're really hungry!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I am afraid this place is about beautiful and tasty food, but don't go if you're hungry - a main course will fit in the palm of your hand! I went to Nandos afterwards...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyberfossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port elizabeth south africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“best service in the area”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

food of a high standard ,waiters very know gable of the menu .food was great well priced ,curries good

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank billy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pampered dining experience”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We went to Kipling's for our anniversary dinner. The service is top notch and the menu has a distinct Indian flavour, but there are the usual grills for those who don't like spice. If you want a proper fine dining experience (palate cleansers & a sommelier) - this is the only place to go in Port Elizabeth. They also have a Sunday lunch buffet. I would suggest a light lunch menu as there is only one menu for lunch and dinner. Have the pumpkin fritters - they are light as air and melt in your mouth!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalislekkerPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kipling's Brasserie also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 

Been to Kipling's Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing