We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where to go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
50 College Drive Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Where to go”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We boled up at the front of 50 College Drive B&B on spec. They not only accommodated us straight away but also provided useful information about where to go and eat and which bit of the beach to to to make the most of the rest of the sunshine that day! We were more than impressed with the room, the shower room and the breakfast. All in all a place that should not be missed! Thanks to Nanette and John

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
23
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our Gauteng Nationals Co-ordinator had to find accomodation for 38 of us for Nomads 49th National Tournament being hosted by Port Elizabeth Golf Club, a mere 750m from 50 College Drive. Fortunately myself and 4 other competitors from Gauteng were allocated to this address. Nanette and her staff (Including Jonny, her husband) went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I would definitely recomend them to all and sundry.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have just returned from a 9 week trip to wonderful South Africa. One of the undoubted highlights was my 6 week stay in the 2 bedroomed cottage at 50 College Drive. The facilities (2 bedrooms, 1 with a double the other with 2 singles; fully equipped kitchen; huge shower and w/c; TV with 9 different channels, most of which are from the DStv service; full security system; access to the plunge pool and huge braai area) were excellent. Modern, spotless and very well maintained by the friendly and highly efficient maid, Gladys, who, for example, was happy to do my washing, for a nominal fee, on more than one occasion.

The owners, Nanette and Jonny, were the most helpful and friendly hosts you could wish for. Nothing was too much trouble - any minor issue (eg. arising in the wake of a local power cut) was typically addressed within minutes. They even went out of their way to make me feel welcome and at home by inviting me to join them for a braai on Christmas Eve.

I wanted somewhere to call 'home' during my trial run in PE (I'm planning to move there later this year) and the cottage at 50 College Drive ticked every box and more. Hopefully I'll have the chance to stay there again ... just hope there's room for me once potential visitors read this review !!!

Thanks again Nanette, Jonny and Gladys

Paul Turner, Dodworth, South Yorkshire, UK

Room Tip: For those looking for a 2 bedroomed self-catering option, the cottage is excellent value for money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTurner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lovely guesthouse. Service and hospitality superb! Nanette does a superb job! Will be back next year!
lovely comfortable room and serviced well! enjoyed my stay! The pool and Koi area are stunning! would recommend to all business and leisure travellers!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

........and that's no lie. Fabulously well-maintained and overflowing with a palpable grace and welcome. This is one B&B I will keep returning to. Nanette is a charming hostess and runs the B&B to the utmost, exacting standards for your comfort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Convenient location and very friendly, helpful owner. Beautifully restored house. Large very comfortable room. Very attractive yellowwood - the whole house is fabulous !

Room Tip: Great place to stay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SueG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband was offered a permanent position in Port Elizabeth, which left us in a quite a position, as we had a house to sell, house to rent and didn't know anyone in PE. I found 50 College Drive as a BNB that would be able to accommodate us for a month until we could find a place to stay, and also get to know our way around PE. Our home for a month truly suited our requirements for the time, and helped us so much to find our feet in PE. The rooms, bathroom and kitchen were a great size, kept in spotless condition. Nanette and Johnny were the perfect hosts, and helped us to familiarise ourselves around PE. They even helped us find a home to rent in PE. A great place to stay, with the best hosts in PE. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Theresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
50CollegeDriveBnB, Owner at 50 College Drive Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We're so pleased that you could use 50 College Drive as a stepping stone during your move to Port Elizabeth and that you have settled in to the city so happily. Kindest regards from us all at 50 College Drive B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.5 mi away
King George's Guest House
King George's Guest House
#63 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
A&A Guesthouse
A&A Guesthouse
#18 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Lane
Lemon Tree Lane
#10 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Chez Paris
#39 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millbury Guest House
Millbury Guest House
#4 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 50 College Drive Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 50 College Drive Bed and Breakfast

Property: 50 College Drive Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 College Drive | Mill Park, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 50 College Drive Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
50 College Drive is a beautiful Cape Dutch Style house which has been lovingly renovated and restored to more than its former glory. This is truly a home away from home to suit the traveler who prefers a cosy homely atmosphere to an impersonal hotel, the corporate who wants to come home to relax after a long day at work, out of town hospital visitors, school sporting events supporters, holiday makers and many more.We have secure off street parking under antique street lamps on cobblestone paving, set among our semi-circular rose-garden and rockery. Enjoy a full English breakfast served in the the open-plan yellow wood kitchen/dining area which opens onto a wooden pool deck and braai area. If you prefer, breakfasts can be served in your room or out on the deck on a summers day. House: We have three spacious en-suite bedrooms, all tastefully furnished with super comfy Queen, King and Twin beds, made up with Percale linen. Each bedroom is equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, TV with DSTV channels (B & B bouquet), tea and coffee making facilities, heaters and hair-dryers. Our bathrooms are beautiful and have walk-in frameless showers, while two of them also have stunning Victorian baths. Family Cottage: This newly built modern family unit consists of 2 bedrooms sleeping 4, which are separated by the open-plan fully equipped granite topped kitchen/dinette. The bathroom (shower only) is en-suite from the main bedroom. A flat screen TV with the B & B DSTV bouquet can swivel between the kitchen and main bedroom. Location: We are centrally situated in the up-market suburb of Mill Park. Everything in Port Elizabeth that you could need is a 1 – 10 minute drive away, including Grey High School, St Georges and Greenacres and Provincial Hospitals, P.E. Golf Club, P.E. Airport, Greenacres and Walmer Park shopping Malls and cinemas, top restaurants and the Beachfront, to name but a few. Other venues close by include The Boardwalk and Casino complex, the Opera House, Feathermarket Hall, and the new 2010 Soccer World Cup Stadium which is about 3 km away. Slightly further afield are more beautiful beaches such as Sardinia Bay, Schoenmakerskop or take a scenic drive into the country areas of Chelsea and Theescombe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your 50 College Drive Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing