We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Suburban Hotel”
Review of Chapman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chapman Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Located in suburban Summerstrand with good ocean and harbor view, close to bars and restaurants, and reasonably priced, Chapman is a very good alternative to staying in Port Elizabeth. My room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast (not included in room price) was plenty and good with pleasant service.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank PeeWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Chapman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 47 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Chapman hotel in the open plan family room. It has a lovely sea view and is based within walking distance of all the attractions.

However, the family room was said to sleep 6- we were disappointed to find that all cutlery and crockery only had 4 of each, which made it very difficult. The balcony with braai was so small that 6 people could not braai together without being squeezed in, and seating within the flat was always an issue. All the doors were noisy in opening and closing, especially the bathroom door which made it hard to sleep in the open plan attic bedroom. The toilet required quite a bit of pumping before it flushed (this was magically fixed somehow).

The icing on the cake was when my partner and I got locked in our own room after the key broke off. Staff were relatively quick to act and we eventually had to climb out the window, since we had an urgent appointment. But it begs the question whether the facilities gets inspected at all, since the lock was clearly worse for wear. There was also no follow up or compensation from the hotel to make up for the grievance this incident caused.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Germari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I love the Chapman Hotel for all of its goodness. Nice rooms, clean, friendly staff who can't wait to assist, great communication and a wonderful restaurant on the complex. I have stayed there twice with large groups, numbering 25 and mostly USA high school students on work camps, and we have so appreciated the willingness of staff and management to take on such a potentially explosive group! Great views of the ocean and convenient to the wonderful Port Elizabeth boardwalk. Walking distance to most everything. We are already returning (God willing!) in 2015 for our next trip.

Room Tip: They have some suites that accommodate large families that are very nice but it seems you must ask a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabelosimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary at Blackbeards Tavern as we had eaten there a few years ago and enjoyed the atmosphere and food and we felt like spoiling ourselves at an up-market restaurant. The restaurant is now at a new venue at the Chapman Hotel, and when i phoned to book i was made aware that there was a dress code. When we arrived there was no one to show us to our table and a lady at a reception desk shouted across to the waitress to take us to our seats. We were placed close to the kitchen door but didnt bother too much about it. there were two large tables laid out and a few minutes later about 35 young peoples in shorts and slip-slops arrived. these are residents of the hotel and they all queued up as there dinner was buffet style. we sat not being able to be heard among the chattering of these young adults who were bumping our table whilst trying to get passed to dish up for themselves. they eventually finished eating and left and we finally got our food. the food was tasty but very badly presented, thrown together on a plate. the noise from the kitchen was so loud whilst we were trying to eat which did not impress me at all. I am very disappointed that the lady at reception did not inform me that they had all these swimmers staying there and that they would be eating at the restaurant and also that she made me aware of how we should dress but these young adults came in as sloppily dressed as they like. Certainly double standards. they could have put our table in the far corner at the other side of the room out of the way and it could have been a pleasant experience but with this kind of service they will certainly not see us again a very disappointing evening to what was supposed to be a special celebration.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank glendaPortElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we stayed there one night, kind of a stopover between Plettenberg bay and the flight to Johannesburg, so cant say much, but here are my impressions:
Good:
staff very nice and helpful, the room was clean (and very big). bed also very big. The location was ok, couple of nice restaurants very close, although i guess not in the city center...
Improvement:
our view although booked as a ocean view, was more of view of the port. The furniture looked a bit old, and i would recommend renewal.no fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Standard Queen Room with Sea View - what we booked. You get an extremely large room :)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmizorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a low budget hotel, rooms can sleep 4, rooms are clean and basic and need to be refurbished. Hotel is old and shows it , some rooms have a small fridge, rooms have tea/coffee making facilities , you pay as you use, Views are good and rooms are bright, restaurant is on a marine theme but not welcoming, breakfast is basic and not appetizing , service is not great, If you are on a tight budget this is the spot for you and the family and don't complain and you pay for what you get, low prices, expect low quality and the rest.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SACLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My room was spacious enough, but not quite clean (feet got dirty when walking around barefoot on the tiled floor) and in need of a bit of maintanance (touch-up paint work in a couple of places). A TV, desk, two chairs, clothes wardrobe, coffee/tea making facilities was available in the room. No safety deposit box though, although they have some sort of system where you can leave your valuables for safety deposit at reception, but seemingly only during certain stated times of the day (08h00-09h00 and 14h00-17h00 on Mondays to Fridays, and 08h00-09h00 and 13h30-15h00 on Saturdays and Sundays) -- thus not really any good if you want to drop of or fetch any valuables before/after a night out?

There was a king size bed in my room. The ensuite dimly lit bathroom had both a bath and a shower.

The location of the hotel is good though, in the touristy part of Port Elizabeth, close to a couple of restaurants. It has a good view over the bay and some good swimming beaches are a short walk away down the hill. For those who do not want to go to the beach for a swim, the hotel also has a small pool outside, but it is situated right next to the reception and restaurant area, so you'll probably have zero privacy.

Their administrative service was very poor though -- it took me five separate telephonic, e-mail and in-person requests just to get a change of guest name document from the hotel (which I needed for an internal transfer of funds at my institution).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpepler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.1 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#15 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.3 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
190 reviews
2.3 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bishops Inn
Bishops Inn
#27 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Hotel

Address: 1 Lady Bea Crescent, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $49 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chapman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing