We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visitor from Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Reviewed November 7, 2012

An impressive looking hotel overlooking the sea ! Rooms were very tired looking and in need of a re-vamp. A tv the size of a postage stamp. Listened to cranes operating on a construction site next door until 8-30 p.m.
Breakfast. The only available table was full of dirty crockery and the staff took 7 minutes to remove them. Staff were available but obviously more important they socialise with themselves.
Breakfast was sloppy watery scrambled egg, the sausage container was empty and remained that way for anothe 45 minutes. We should have gone across the road for breakfast.
Very worried about our hire car as the security barrier was broken and we were in breach of our hire car agreement. In fact I still have the barrier token ,did not need to use it .Anyone could have taken our car easily.
I emailed the hotel expressing my dissapointment but 2 months on got no reply. Not really cheap as we had much better value for money in bed and breakfasts.

Room Tip: enough said
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you did no enjoy your stay. We will definitely look into your observations and see what can be done to improve matters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Came from Kwazulu Natal...had to stop over for some rest with a partner!
Reception was slow.
Room neat and clean.
Basic hotel.

Exellent rate that we recieved and felt our vehicle was safe outside in te parking area with security.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thysmetys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Very good value for money, basic room, no fridge, bad service, unfriendly staff, variety of restaurants to choose from to bring take-aways - food not good at all ... but overall not bad for just one night

Room Tip: No lifts ... so if you don't want to struggle with your heavy suitcase up the stairs, ask for th...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stunningchick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We chose this hotel because we had a late arrival into P.E. and an early departure the next day. We couldn't see the sense in paying more when we really just needed a place to crash. We wanted multiple rooms for the family and tried to email ahead to confirm this. The hotel didn't respond to emails, but were happy enough to accommodate our request on arrival.

The rooms are small. Like Formule 1 style small. Small TV, small bed. The shower is in the corner of the room and only has a see through door separating it from the rest of the room. Don't stay in a twin room unless you are really good friends with your travelling companion, or you want to be. There is no lift, and stairs to carry your bags up. Seriously, who designs a new hotel (which this is) without a lift?

Still, clean and comfortable enough. Staff were friendly and helpful - even to the point of helping us with our bags up the stairs. More service than I expected in a hotel at this price point.

We were going to the boardwalk for dinner, and the hotel staff arranged a shuttle. However, this was a bit ridiculous as the place was just next to the hotel, with just a service station seperating the two. We felt more than comfortable just walking back to the hotel afterwards.

In the morning we went across the road to the beachfront cafes for breakfast. Great location for a one night stay, with the boardwalk one side, and the beach the other.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank inas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed here one night, and was itching to upgrade to a better hotel the next morning. First of all, the hotel is in a great location. It is in one of the best areas of Humewood literally a 2-3 minute walk to the boardwalk. There is ample free parking, and the staff was nice enough.
The rooms were very small, the beds were hard and uncomfortable, and the TV was tiny and had 3 channels. The shower was not in the bathroom, and was open to the small bedroom, which was kind of awkward as I was sharing the room with a male friend of mine. I was told by management that all rooms had showers openly visible to the bedroom. Like most of SA, Wifi was available but at a very high price.
In all fairness, the hotel does not pretend to be a swanky upscale boutique hotel. It is cheap, and functional with a good location. I enjoyed my stay at their sister hotel, City Lodge, but paid a bit extra to have a few more frills.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noturavg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Though the room was affordable,clean and centrally located we experienced theft of my cellphone.We left the room at 23h35 and upon return about half an hour later discovered my cellphone to be missing.Amazingly they detected that someone other than us entered our room at 23h39!!Believe it within 4minutes...
The proof is there as management checked in the morning which key was used to enter the room and was found it was an Emergency Security Key after their reception staff duty told me that they do not keep any master keys on the premises and on persisting to see the manager I was told that the manager is not available during the night and that I have to wait till 06h00 the morning when the manager comes on duty.Amazingly another person in another room explained to manager in the the morning that her daughters cellphone was also taken from their room the night before and that in there case the staff just said "It never happened before"!Iwould not recommend this lodge to any one as what was suppose to be a relaxing weekend with my husband who visited S.A from the UK for the 1st time turned out as a bad introductory.DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank cathygallant4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I had to visit PE for a product launch. All I needed was place to stay over for the night. Road Lodge filled this requirement and more. Conveniently situated to where I needed to be. Close to the Boardwalk & Casino. Plenty of restaurants to choose from close by.

The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was neat, tidy and clean.

If I have to overnight again somewhere, I'd look up the Road Lodge again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WingDray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.6 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#11 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#15 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Port Elizabeth

Address: Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World, Marine Drive | P.O. Box 13219, Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $46 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Port Elizabeth 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. This is the best value in the City Lodge Group of hotels. The same rate is charged whether there is one, two or even three people sharing the comfortably furnished and tastefully decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Road Lodge Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Road Hotel Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing