We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit - with family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Kings Beach
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Return Visit - with family.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We opted for an overnight in PE and as I had stayed at this hotel before it was a first choice.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms are good quality. We did initially think the first room we were given - a non smoking room - had been used by a smoker. They promptly gave us another room. However, it turned out that it was the A/C system which was bringing the smell of cigarette smoke into the room when it was first turned on. It very quickly cleared.

Although the hotel does very good breakfasts, it does not have a dinner menu and customers have to either use an franchise which is attached to the hotel or go out to eat. As there are restaurants within walking distance of the hotel we did not find this to be an inconvenience.

PE is a very friendly city, and the traffic appears to be better disciplined that in our area. The road systems are easy to follow, but I would certainly avoid the center of town as it's pretty congested.

We were tempted to stop there on our return journey, they have special rates at the weekend, but instead we opted to take an in land route home.

Room Tip: The front side rooms overlook the ocean and from the upper rooms at the back there is a view up to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastachia D, PA at Garden Court Kings Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We are pleased to announce that the hotel is currently busy with new development. Dinner is served 7 days a week, and we are also doing our own room service.

We look forward to your future visits.

Yours in hospotality
Anastachia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    183
    80
    25
    16
See reviews for
113
75
18
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Garden Court is located close to the beach, within easy walking distance of the Boardwalk and other attractions. If our single night stay is any guide it's a good choice for a beachside stay in PE.

Our room, a clean and comfortable double, had a very modern bathroom with a large shower. Even though it lacked some of the finer touches you find at more highly rated hotels, it suited our needs perfectly for such a short stay.

Several dining options are attached (a steakhouse for one) but there are other good options reasonably close by and at the Boardwalk. The breakfast buffet was perfectly fine with enough choices to suit most tastes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Located very close to the seafront in Port Elizabeth. Huge hotel but very good service. Parking was a little difficult though. The view from our rooms were terrific and they were very comfortable. Everything was clean and service promt in rooms. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Port Elizabeth. I regret not staying here more than a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajit9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King William's Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent receiption Staff willing to assist perfect room with perfect view Good service at breakfast Housekeeping superb with ensuring the room is kept clean and refilling supplies and available when you phone them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2013

As an old patron, may I suggest the following, a glass of champagne or non alcoholic drink on arrival. Chocolates on the pillows. The bed opened up. A special note of motivation. Bags received and delivered to the rooms. A video rental service. Champagne in the room

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Elroy Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mthatha, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Service was good, rooms clean and staff friendly even singing Mandela songs it was a pleasure. The Hotel is conveniently situated. The problem is with the ordering of food from the places and shops outside the Hotel. The threat is the non offering of Dinner for clients.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jamangile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

On arrival with my group I had to wait more than 20 Min before anyone attensed to us. That after there was no one else checking in. To my shock and disgust we were allocated rooms at the back of the hotel facing the car perk area, that after paying for for sea facing "Superior Rooms" at R 1299 per night. Paying the full rate you would at least exoect to be allocated the rooms booked and reserved as per the CONFIRMATION of Reservation notice sent to me. After more that 45 min, standing waiting in the foyer, we were eventually given sea facing rooms. I expect to receive the service and accommodation which I had paid for in full before arrial, when I arrive. Never again will I be using this unfriendly and non-committed to service of this hotel.
Think twice before staying here

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundaboutTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.7 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kings Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kings Beach

Property: Garden Court Kings Beach
Address: La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kings Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elizabeth is a city that boasts leisure attractions and an active business centre. The Garden Court King's Beach hotel affords easy access to everything that this city has to offer. Within walking distance of the magnificent King's Beach Promenade, this affordable accommodation offering is the gateway to a world of fun. With 2km of white sand, a surfing spot, the MacArther's Baths and many other attractions, this Garden Court is an ideal leisure destination. Mike's Kitchen is opening at the hotel on 1 October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Kings Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court King`s Beach Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing