We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Court Kings beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Kings Beach
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Garden Court Kings beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

As an old patron, may I suggest the following, a glass of champagne or non alcoholic drink on arrival. Chocolates on the pillows. The bed opened up. A special note of motivation. Bags received and delivered to the rooms. A video rental service. Champagne in the room

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Elroy Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    163
    72
    23
    15
See reviews for
100
66
17
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mthatha, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Service was good, rooms clean and staff friendly even singing Mandela songs it was a pleasure. The Hotel is conveniently situated. The problem is with the ordering of food from the places and shops outside the Hotel. The threat is the non offering of Dinner for clients.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jamangile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

On arrival with my group I had to wait more than 20 Min before anyone attensed to us. That after there was no one else checking in. To my shock and disgust we were allocated rooms at the back of the hotel facing the car perk area, that after paying for for sea facing "Superior Rooms" at R 1299 per night. Paying the full rate you would at least exoect to be allocated the rooms booked and reserved as per the CONFIRMATION of Reservation notice sent to me. After more that 45 min, standing waiting in the foyer, we were eventually given sea facing rooms. I expect to receive the service and accommodation which I had paid for in full before arrial, when I arrive. Never again will I be using this unfriendly and non-committed to service of this hotel.
Think twice before staying here

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundaboutTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Nov 2013, was really impressed with the revempt rooms , as they were very spacious , had a room on the 10th floor which is highly recommended as one gets a nice view of the ocean. Location is very central to the beach, there's good vibe of take outs down stairs, with a total garage as well, Breakfast was good, with a variety of freshly baked croissants and hot muffins, also a nice variety of fruits to choose from
staff were friendly and helpfull. Only the shower needs abit of attention as it floods .overall great day and a great stay

Room Tip: the higher you are the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Mrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Not a bad hotel. Nothing particularly bad, nothing particularly good. Air conditioner in the room was very loud, shower flooded the floor, decor okay. Really not sure I'll stay here again as the price was very steep for what was on offer

Room Tip: Request a sea view above floor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was excited to stay at this hotel but shortly after arrival I had my first disappointment.

My room smelt of cigarette smoke and I had to request another room.

The upgrade room was bigger but had serious issues, including bathroom with leaking taps and the bathroom floor floods whilst showering. The toilet seat also had seen better days.

The other issue was the breakfast selection which was less than average to say the least. You are not able to even get a decent cup of coffee in the morning as most beverages are served out of a vending machine.

Overall, the hotel needs work and was more than a little disappointing.

The positives are that the upgraded room with a seaview was magnificent and the staff were friendly and obliging to say the least.

The staff made the otherwise extremely disappointing stay tolerable.

Room Tip: ask for the sea view room. The view really was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Tsogo Sun have been extremely good to us over the course of our tour but the long hours and extensive traveling had definitely taken its toll on us. With that in mind our stay in PE couldn't have come at a better time. From our arrival at the hotel we were treated to excellent and friendly service from Garden Court Hotel's staff. We were treated to spacious rooms with all the amenities we could of asked for which resulted in us being able to continue on feeling refreshed and ready for what the rest of our tour had to throw at us. Thank you to the wonderful staff for making our stay at the Garden Court King's Beach such a memorable one.

GoodLuck

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodLuckLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.7 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kings Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kings Beach

Property: Garden Court Kings Beach
Address: La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kings Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elizabeth is a city that boasts leisure attractions and an active business centre. The Garden Court King's Beach hotel affords easy access to everything that this city has to offer. Within walking distance of the magnificent King's Beach Promenade, this affordable accommodation offering is the gateway to a world of fun. With 2km of white sand, a surfing spot, the MacArther's Baths and many other attractions, this Garden Court is an ideal leisure destination. Mike's Kitchen is opening at the hotel on 1 October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Kings Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court King`s Beach Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing