We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience in PE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Kings Beach
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My first stay at this hotel on a quick business trip was a pleasant experience, from efficient reception staff to attentive breakfast service. Breakfast quality and variety was excellent, as well as being ready for the early birds at 06:30 spot on! We also tried out the new dinner buffet, which was quite a good choice in terms of variety and quality, in spite of being fairly busy on a Sunday night. The rooms seem to have been refurbished quite recently and offer stunning views across the bay. A little bit of road noise was evident, but this was not too disturbing. Also offering 350 MB of free WiFi per day. There is a gym located on the 8th floor. Overall a solid recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a great sea view, although rooms at the back might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 606 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

PROS: all round excellent service from staff, from the front desk team (special mention to Busi) through to the restaurant staff (special mention to Beauty) and perfect location being on the beach and central to almost all big sights. excellent breakfast buffet! AND the complimentary free daily Wifi was a nice surprise!

CONS: parking area needs alot of TLC --> severe damp issues, poor lighting and a lot of cordoned off areas

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brad_capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Friendly staff, excellent service and great care for clients. We had to cancel a venue that was organised for our group meeting somewhere in town and were conveniently offered a meeting venue big enough for our group and needs.our rooms were spacious,neat,recently renovated with mordern decor and practical fittings. The bathrooms were spacious, well maintained and neat. The overall experience was great and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heerengracht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had to be in Port Elizabeth for business and I had stayed at the hotel before so I decided to stay again. Check in was great and when asked for a room on a higher floor was given an upgrade. I had a lovely corner room with views over the sea and of the city. Room was very comfortable and large. The weather was cold so I enjoyed the shower. Staff was very helpful and friendly. What I like about staying there, is that there are a couple of restaurants in the vacinity who have an arrangement, whereby you can charge your meal to your room. Breakfast was very good and once again the staff was attentive. Check out was quick and effortless. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have much better views and the corner suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel on the first look seems gorgeous. The lobby is decent, having enough place to hang about with a kind of a lounge created near the reception area. The rooms are spacious & bright. The colours though not irritating a bit are vibrant enough to highlight the scenic views of the sea & the beach from the windows. The food was decent to taste.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rushik1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A one night stay, like a lot of other reviewers and, like them, I was impressed with the blackout curtains, the comfy bed and the view the next morning when I woke up.
Breakfast hit the spot too, decent coffee (from a machine), all the usual items and the cook made me a very nice cheese and chili omelette.
Internet access seemed a bit expensive but there is a free wi-fi place just across the way if you need it. No free signals in range of the hotel.
The staff, who were uniformly friendly and helpful, suggested a walk down the seafront to a pier, where there's a coffee shop, prior to my taxi to the airport. They were right, it was a gorgeous morning and the stroll was worthwhile.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marki50uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Got to the hotel at about 8pm. Check in was quick and painless. I asked if the room was upgraded as I am a president member on the Tsogo Sun frequent guest program. The room had been upgraded to a corner suite with a king size bed. It has a lounge with a full size bedroom and a very comfortable bathroom. The bathroom and bedroom look quite new, probably refurbished in the last two years or so. The furniture is fairly maintained and the rooms are quite clean. The only problem I came accross was the airconditioning and the plumbing in the bathroom. It was fairly nippy so I turned the aircon on high heat. After about half an hour the room was still cold. Housekeeping had a look at it and said it could not be fixed at that time. I asked for a heater which they said was being used by another room but they did offer me to change rooms. As I was quite settled in already I opted not to move. A few minutes later they sent up two blankets which was a nice touch. The shower gets water logged very quickly and when you open the shower door all the water spills over into the bathroom. Breakfast is a decent buffet spread. The adjoining Spur restaurant handles the room service. Food is below average and tasteless. I ordered the fish, I assume they are better at steak as they are actually a steakhouse. Other than that I found this hotel to be spectacular. Well done to the team!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.1 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#14 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kings Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kings Beach

Address: La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $101 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kings Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elizabeth is a city that boasts leisure attractions and an active business centre. The Garden Court King's Beach hotel affords easy access to everything that this city has to offer. Within walking distance of the magnificent King's Beach Promenade, this affordable accommodation offering is the gateway to a world of fun. With 2km of white sand, a surfing spot, the MacArther's Baths and many other attractions, this Garden Court is an ideal leisure destination. Mike's Kitchen is opening at the hotel on 1 October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court Kings Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court King`s Beach Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing