We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court Kings Beach
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Got to the hotel at about 8pm. Check in was quick and painless. I asked if the room was upgraded as I am a president member on the Tsogo Sun frequent guest program. The room had been upgraded to a corner suite with a king size bed. It has a lounge with a full size bedroom and a very comfortable bathroom. The bathroom and bedroom look quite new, probably refurbished in the last two years or so. The furniture is fairly maintained and the rooms are quite clean. The only problem I came accross was the airconditioning and the plumbing in the bathroom. It was fairly nippy so I turned the aircon on high heat. After about half an hour the room was still cold. Housekeeping had a look at it and said it could not be fixed at that time. I asked for a heater which they said was being used by another room but they did offer me to change rooms. As I was quite settled in already I opted not to move. A few minutes later they sent up two blankets which was a nice touch. The shower gets water logged very quickly and when you open the shower door all the water spills over into the bathroom. Breakfast is a decent buffet spread. The adjoining Spur restaurant handles the room service. Food is below average and tasteless. I ordered the fish, I assume they are better at steak as they are actually a steakhouse. Other than that I found this hotel to be spectacular. Well done to the team!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 571 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in an excellent location. We were given a sea view room on the top floor, the view of the ocean was amazing from here! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was stylish and modern. The beds were so comfortable and the blockout curtains are the best part about staying at Southern Sun! On the downside, the bathroom was very small and the bath was leaking. This resulted in the entire floor of the bathroom being soaked after a 5 minute shower.

The breakfast was lovely with many options to choose from. The best part about this hotel is it's close proximity to the beach and restaurants.

Overall a wonderful relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastachia D, Manager at Garden Court Kings Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Good Day

Thank you very much for your commments nad feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

We look forward to your future visits.

Yours in Hospitality
Anastachia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Gardens Court for one night before returning to Cape Town. Check In was quick and the staff were pleasant.The room was a good size and very clean. The double bed was very comfortable and also very clean. A large choice of TV channels, especially sport. Overlooking an amazing beach front and promenade and we had a nice stroll along the Sunday morning market just at the bottom of the road.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, especially the chef who cooked our eggs for breakfast as she had been very busy that morning as the hotel was practically full.
When we first arrived it seemed like we were staying in a large Travel Lodge but actually we really enjoyed it and would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: I should imagine rooms with a sea view are lovely, but we didn't spend much time looking out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ushers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on a business trip to PE- nice check in experience, with friendly staff. Breakfast good quality buffet with reasonably choice built into the room rate. Close proximity to dining and the beach. Rooms spotlessly clean, full bouquet of supersport channels . Really good staff- will come stay here again if opportunity presents itself :)

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room for spectacular views of Algoa Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ismail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had a comfortable four days here.Checkin in staff were helpful .Vuyani and in particular Kaylin was very efficient and helpful in finding options on things to do in Port Elizabeth.Rooms as mentioned by others are in good shape and the housekeeping staff are doing a great job.
The only comment on the room is that the front doors of the rooms are difficult to shut for some reason and you really have to bang the door which disturbs the peace and quiet.
Nice breakfast and convienent location on the waterfront.Wish the wifi was free as in most other places.The hotel was full and the staff were really struggling but most still had a smile on their face!!
Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indian-travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

On arrival to this hotel we did not find the staff to be very friendly! No porter came to the door and the family before us had assistance! We struggled in with our bags as the third person with us went and parked the car. We stayed here for two nights. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good. However there were no dinner facilities in the hotel. Spurs was the only option attached to the hotel. We had a lot of rain when we were there and if we did not want to leave the hotel it would have been nice to have different dinner options!! In the gym the bike was broken. There were also a lot of children in there running about!! There was a nice but small pool area which I'm sure would have been nice if it had not been raining! One more drawback to the hotel was that the wifi was difficult to access and you were charged for using it. We found this unusual as we had stayed in guesthouses along the coast with full and free wifi access. However saying all this it was comfortable and clean and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jersey_09Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have visted this hotel regularly over the course of a number of years. Staff and management have consistently provided excellent service. It is not the fanciest hotel, but it provides excellent clean and safe accomodation. The views of the ocean are fantastic and it is located very close to a number of restaurants which will cater of all tastes.

Save guarded parking is provided.

The breakfast could be better - no good filter coffee!!

Still a very accomoation if you are visiting Nelson Mandela Bay on business. A good no-nonsense business travel hotel.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybert03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.1 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
493 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kings Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kings Beach

Address: La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $94 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kings Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elizabeth is a city that boasts leisure attractions and an active business centre. The Garden Court King's Beach hotel affords easy access to everything that this city has to offer. Within walking distance of the magnificent King's Beach Promenade, this affordable accommodation offering is the gateway to a world of fun. With 2km of white sand, a surfing spot, the MacArther's Baths and many other attractions, this Garden Court is an ideal leisure destination. Mike's Kitchen is opening at the hotel on 1 October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court Kings Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court King`s Beach Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing