We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Kings Beach
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have recently spent a week at this hotel, apart from a room underneath the gym which drove me mad (dont book room 706) I found the room to be very spacious and clean with a lovely sea view. Staff are very friendly.
Good value.

Room Tip: DO NOT book room 706.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bungy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    163
    72
    23
    15
See reviews for
100
66
17
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stay with my family here. Room tastefully design with 2 double beds. Sleep was great. If anything else bores you, you can enjoy a great view of the ocean. Nice breakfast and walk through to Spur Steak Ranch.

Room Tip: Superior facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Centrino583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2nights. My check in was not that great. Waiting almost an hour to get my room -even though I came after normal check-in time. However, the room was beautiful with a great view. I had to change my room due to an air-conditioner that was not working. This nearly spoilt my stay, but after I got a new room, it was a lovely stay. Breakfast is quite good and a lot of variety. One issue is that the restaurant is open to public so it is sometimes too full, but ordering from your room tends to be the best option. The hotel has a "free" parking, walking distance to the beach and very close to the airport - I think about 3km or so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jabu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I can fully recommend this hotel.Good sized rooms with 2 double beds,tv,safe,hairdryer,aircon,ample closet space,tea & coffee making facility.The only thing missing in the room is a small fridge.Breakfast is very good,with the best hot chocolate.The staff are extremely helpful and friendly.Our room had a beautiful view.The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of restaurants and fast food outlets.The beach is across the street,with a walkway along the beach.The hotel also offers free secure parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zee55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was surprised by the exceptional view with sunrise of the beach and sea. Further all as one might expect of Tsogo Sun - descent rooms, good service, and an excellent breakfast buffet. Location is great as you are literally in walking distance from the beach.

Disappointment with the paid internet vouchers for the WIFI was the only setback.

Room Tip: Make sure you have ocean view and wake in time for sunrise...stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights at the end of June 2012. We are a family of four (two teens) and stayed in a room with 2 double beds.
Check in went well, and the staff really went out of their way to accommodate our needs. We requested a non smoking room with sea view, and this is what we got. The hotel was quite full, and it seems as if a lot of their business comes from the state departments, and not really holiday guests. Rooms were good, clean and had a make over not to long ago. Beautiful view from the room over the ocean. Bathrooms consists of shower in bath tub, toilet and basin, very neatly done and clean. Breakfast was included in our rate, and was a buffet breakfast with hot and cold food. On the down side I must add that the aircon in the room was not working properly, and the room was a bit to hot. If you do open the window, you experience a lot of street noise, and noise from the fueling station next to the hotel, like people talking (shouting) verly loud, and minibus taxi's blowing on their hooters. Although the rooms had a make over, the hotel needs to replace the towels in the bathroom, some of the towels we received were really old and grey of colour. For the purpose of our stay, this hotel was good, nice restaurant very nearby, Spur next door, Macdonalds just accross the parking area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night on business. The thing that struck me most was the great service provided by the staff - they were all so friendly and willing to help. The hotel itself offers good value for money. Rooms are spacious and very clean. I had a sea facing room on the 10th floor. My room had 2 double beds in it, and had a shower over the bath.

Location is good, and is close to most things you would want in PE. Breakfast buffet was great with loads of options. All round, the stay in the hotel was very present. I'll definitely stay here again when in PE.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank QuintonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.7 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kings Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kings Beach

Property: Garden Court Kings Beach
Address: La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kings Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elizabeth is a city that boasts leisure attractions and an active business centre. The Garden Court King's Beach hotel affords easy access to everything that this city has to offer. Within walking distance of the magnificent King's Beach Promenade, this affordable accommodation offering is the gateway to a world of fun. With 2km of white sand, a surfing spot, the MacArther's Baths and many other attractions, this Garden Court is an ideal leisure destination. Mike's Kitchen is opening at the hotel on 1 October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Kings Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court King`s Beach Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing